Gary Furniss

Board of Directors


Gary Furniss (Sony/ATV Music Publishing Canada)

Gary Furniss, President of Sony/ATV Publishing in Canada, has been responsible along with the Sony/ATV team for the development and growth of the company since 1993, and has been instrumental in bringing Sony/ATV’s domestic writers to international recognition. 
The roster is comprised of great Canadian writers including Chantal Kreviazuk, Raine Maida, K’Naan, LIGHTS, Elise LeGrow, Our Lady Peace, Fefe Dobson, USS, Anjulie, Murray McLauchlan, Tom Wilson, and producer/writers Tawgs Salter, Jon Levine, James Bryan and Rob Wells, many of whom are recipients of gold, platinum and other music industry awards.
Gary is currently Second Vice-Chair of SOCAN Board of Directors, a director of the CMPA and current chairman of the CMRRA board. Past director positions include director of CARAS, CSHF and executive editor of Music Publisher Canada. Furniss contributed to the development of the Juno Songwriters’ Circle – a very special Canadian songwriters’ highlight presented on Juno Weekend. 
Gary is also very supportive of the music industry's newly created Unison Benevolent Fund. A assistance and referral program for and by the music community that provides emergency financial assistance and crisis management, insurance and counselling ( The UBF is also very important cause that is supported by SOCAN.
Sony/ATV represents many international song catalogues including songs written by Lennon-McCartney, Lady Gaga, Pitbull, Nelly Furtado, Leonard Cohen, Joni Mitchell, Randy Bachman, Neil Diamond, Famous Music, Leiber and Stoller, Acuff-Rose, Shaftesbury Films and Alliance Atlantis.