ASCAP honours SOCAN members at 2017 Pop Music Awards

SOCAN at the 2017 ASCAP Pop Music Awards. Left to right: Award-winning Drake producer Boi-1da; SOCAN Chief Membership and Business Development Officer Michael McCarty; General Manager, SOCAN Los Angeles Division, Chad Richardson; and Award-winning Drake producer Sevn Thomas.
May 24, 2017

ASCAP honoured the SOCAN member songwriters of some of the most successful pop songs of the past year during the 34th annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards, held May 18, 2017, at the Wiltern Theatre in Los Angeles.

SOCAN songwriters who earned ASCAP Pop Music Awards at the 2017 edition are:

  • The Weeknd and Ahmad “Belly” Balshe for The Weeknd’s “In The Night”;
  • The Weeknd, Henry “Cirkut” Walter, Jason “Daheala” Quenneville, Martin “Doc” McKinney, for The Weeknd’s “Starboy”;
  • Tory Lanez for his hit song “Say It”;
  • Ebony "Wondagurl" Oshunrinde and Bryan “Eestbound” Van Mierlo for Travi$ Scott’s “Antidote”;
  • Adam “Frank Dukes” Feeney for Rihanna’s “Needed Me”;
  • Drake, Jahron “PARTYNEXTDOOR” Brathwaite, Matthew “Boi-1da” Samuels, Sevn Thomas, for “Work,” performed by Rihanna feat. Drake;
  • Drake, Paul “Nineteen85” Jefferies, Noah “40” Shebib for “One Dance,” by Drake Feat. WizKid & Kyla; and
  • Alessia Cara, Bobby Gerongco, Sammy Gerongco and Terence Lam for “Here.”

SOCAN congratulates all of these winning members on their great international achievements!