#ComposersWhoScore: eight SOCAN members nominated at the Gala Québec Cinéma

April 6, 2017

A total of eight SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore are nominated in the Best Original Score category of the 2017 Gala des artisans Québec Cinéma that will be broadcast live on ICI ARTV and the radio-canada.ca website from the Maison de Radio-Canada on Thursday, June 1, starting at 7:30 p.m.

The nominated #ComposersWhoScore are:
•    Thierry Amar, David Bryant and Kevin Doria (BMI) for Maudite poutine
•    Frannie Holder, Charles Lavoie and Vincent Legault (Dear Criminals) for Nelly
•    Guy Bélanger for Les mauvaises herbes
•    Martin Léon for Embrasse-moi comme tu m’aimes
•    Robert Marcel Lepage for Avant les rues

The addition of six new categories has led to the creation of a second event, the Gala des artisans Québec Cinéma. That evening will be hosted by Léane Labrèche-Dor and Pier-Luc Funk, and a total of 14 newly created Prix Iris will be awarded, including Best Priginal Score. The Gala Québec Cinéma, a celebration of Québecois film, will be held the following Sunday, June 4. Guylaine Tremblay and Édith Cochrane will host that celebration, during which 12 awards will be handed out.

The leading nominee movies, with 12 nominations each, are Xavier Dolan’s Juste la fin du monde and Kim Nguyen’s Un ours et deux amants . Embrasse-moi comme tu m’aimes (André Forcier) and Les mauvaises herbes (Louis Bélanger) have each received nine nominations, while the drama Avant les rues (Chloé Leriche) earned eight. Nelly (Anne Émond) garnered six nominations and 10 secondes de liberté (Stephen Hopkins), five.

For the full list of nominees, visit the official website.