Drake leads SOCAN member 2017 Grammy Award nominations with eight

Looking like he’s the King of Toronto, and maybe the world: SOCAN member and 2017 eight-time Grammy nominee Drake.
December 19, 2016

SOCAN member and global phenomenon Drake has capped off a hugely successful year by earning eight nominations – the most among our members this year – for the 59th annual Grammy Awards, to be held Sunday, Feb. 12, 2017, broadcast live, worldwide, from the Staples Center in Los Angeles.

Drake’s garnered nominations for his virtually unstoppable Views album; for his feature on Rihanna’s “Work”; and for his work with PartyNextDoor on “Come See Me.” Producers, beat-makers, engineers and songwriters (and fellow SOCAN members) in Drake’s camp also earned nominations for their work on Views, among them Paul “Nineteen85” Jefferies, Boi-1da, Noah “40” Shebib, Frank Dukes, Sevn Thomas, Murda Beatz, Jordan Ullman, and Noel “Gadget” Campbell.

Jefferies was nominated in the Producer of the Year, Non-Classical field for his strong catalogue of work, including “Hotline Bling” and “One Dance” for Drake, and “Rising Water” and “We Move” for James Vincent McMorrow. He's also nominated for Best Rap Song, alongside Drake, for “Hotline Bling.”

Soulful singer-songwriter and explosive live performer Tory Lanez was nominated in the Best R&B Song category for “Luv.” Duo Bob Moses earned their first Grammy nomination, for Best Dance Recording, for “Tearing Me Up.”

Other SOCAN member Grammy nominees for 2017 include:

  • Kai, for Best Dance Recording, honouring her contribution to Flume's hit song “Never Be Like You”
  • Steven Lee Olsen, one of the co-writers of Keith Urban's “Blue Ain't Your Color,” nominated for Best Country Song
  • Darcy James Argue's Secret Society, for Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album, for Real Enemies

The Chainsmokers’ enduring smash pop hit “Closer,” nominated for Best Pop Duo/Group Performance, was co-written by SOCAN member Shaun Frank.

Nominated for Best Bluegrass Album is North by South, by Claire Lynch. Lynch isn’t a SOCAN member, but the album is a collection of her bluegrass covers of songs written by them, including ones by Gordon Lightfoot, David Francey, Ron Sexsmith, Willie P. Bennett, Cris Cuddy, Old Man Luedecke, and Lynn Miles.

For a complete list of all SOCAN members officially nominated for a 2017 Grammy Award, click here.

For a complete list of all SOCAN members not officially nominated for a 2017 Grammy, but who worked on the nominated songs or recordings, click here.

SOCAN is proud of our Grammy-nominated members and we congratulate them on this huge achievement!