Forty-six SOCAN members nominated for 2018 Canadian Screen Awards

SOCAN member Todor Kobakov is nominated for Best Original Music, Fiction, in the 2018 Canadian Screen Awards.
January 17, 2018

Once again this year, SOCAN members have fared very well in nominations at the Canadian Screen Awards, in the musical categories. Twenty-five of our members have earned nominations in various categories.

Presented by the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television, the Canadian Screen Awards were born of the fusion of two awards ceremonies – the Genie Awards for movies and Gemini Awards for television. The March 11, 2018, gala will be broadcast live on CBC-TV from Toronto’s Sony Centre for the Performing Arts.

The SOCAN nominees in musical categories are as follows (all nominees are SOCAN members unless noted otherwise):


Achievement in Music – Original Score
Pierre-Philippe Côté - The Ravenous | Les Affamés
Ben Fox - Never Steady, Never Still
Terry Riley, Gyan Riley (both BMI)- Hochelaga, Land of Souls | Hochelaga, Terre des Âmes
Viviane Audet, Robin-Joël Cool, Alexis Martin - Cross My Heart | Les rois mongols
Mychael Danna, Jeff Danna - The Breadwinner

Achievement in Music - Original Song
Dani Bailey (N/A) - “Rid The Dark” from Hunting Pignut
Qais Essar (N/A), Joshua Hill (N/A) - “The Crown Sleeps” from The Breadwinner
Joey Sherrett, Chris Gordon, Nathaniel Huskinson - “CTS Thief” from Boost


Best Original Music, Non-Fiction
Michael Richard Plowman- Avenues of Escape
Philip Strong, Thomas Hoy - Little India: Village of Dreams
John Welsman - Where The Universe Sings: The Spiritual Journey of Lawren Harris
Gord Downie, Kevin Drew, Dave Hamelin - Secret Path
Guillaume Coutu-Dumont- The Life-Sized City: Medellin

Best Original Music, Fiction
Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner - Anne, “Remorse is The Poison of Life”
Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner - X Company, “Remembrance”
Jonathan Goldsmith - Pure, “Ordination”
Mychael Danna, Jeff Danna - Alias Grace
Todor Kobakov - Cardinal

Best Original Music, Animation
Christian Szczesniak – Mysticons, “The Coronation”
Serge Côté - Jaxon and Song's Maple Mystery
Nerida Tyson-Chew (APRA) - The Deep, “The Baltic Sea Anomaly”
Steffan Andrews - Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, “Bacon Girl”

Various other SOCAN members are nominated in several other categories, including Bryan Adams, Sean Cullen, Jonathan Torrens, Alan Thicke (posthumously), Claude La Haye, Stéphane Bergeron, Maxime Potvin, Philippe Atié, Sylvain Bellemare, Hans Laitres, Jean-Sebastien Beaudoin Gagnon, Christian Rivest, Guy Pelletier, Jean-Philippe Savard, Francine Poirier, Nicolas Gagnon, Yuri Gorbachow, Devin Doucette, Jeremy Fong, Simon Brien, and Patrice Gill.

For further information and a complete list of nominees, visit the Canadian Screen Awards website.

Congratulations to all of our nominees on this great achievement!