Harrison Kennedy wins SOCAN-sponsored songwriter honour at 2018 Maple Blues Awards

Harrison Kennedy (right) accepts his SOCAN Songwriter of the Year honour at the 2018 Maple Blues Awards, as Greg Torrington of Stingray Music looks on. (Photo: Greg King)
January 16, 2018

Harrison Kennedy won the SOCAN-sponsored Songwriter of the Year honours at the 21st annual Maple Blues Awards, presented by the Toronto Blues Society on Jan. 15, 2018, at Koerner Hall in Toronto.

Colin James was the big winner of the night, taking home the trophies for Electric Act, Recording/Producer, and Guitarist of the Year. The Blues With A Feeling Award for lifetime achievement went to Toronto musician Diana Braithwaite, for her longtime career and commitment to blues music in Canada.

In addition to the Maple Blues Awards, the fourth annual Cobalt Prize Contemporary Blues Composition Award was handed out to Joe Nolan for his song “All You’ve Got to Do,” with runners-up Conor Gains for his song “Walking Alone” and Miss Emily for her composition “Hold Back The River.” A cash prize of $1000 was presented to Nolan, with the runners-up each receiving $250.

The Maple Blues Awards are funded in part by the SOCAN Foundation.