Marielle Groven wins SOCAN Foundation’s 2013 John Weinzweig Grand Prize

June 25, 2013

Marielle Groven, of Fletchers Lake, NS, has won The John Weinzweig Grand Prize in the 22nd Annual SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers. The $3,000 prize is presented for the work deemed by the jury to be the best overall in the annual competition. Groven, 29, currently based in Berlin, completed a Master’s degree in composition at that city’s Hochschule für Musik “Hanns Eisler.” Her winning work, Animaris Currens Ventosa, for large ensemble, also captured first prize in the competition’s Serge Garant Awards category.

This year’s competition attracted 184 entries, awarding $29,250 to 14 prizewinners, following three days of jury deliberation by a trio of renowned Canadian composers: Dr. Ka Nin Chan of the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Music; Dr. T. Patrick Carrabré of Brandon University’s School of Music in Brandon, MB; and electroacoustic music specialist Gilles Gobeil, professor of music technology at Collège de Drummondville, QC.

Also winning two $3,000 top prizes is Wei-Chieh Lin, originally from Taiwan and based in Brossard, QC, who captured first prizes in the Sir Ernest MacMillan Awards category for Tracing the Shadows of Broken Time and in the Pierre Mercure Awards category for A glimpse of trembling refraction. Other winners of $3,000 first prizes were Marie-Claire Saindon for Øst for vinden and Anna Pidgorna for On the Eve of Ivan Kupalo (shared, in the Godfrey Ridout Awards), and James O’Callaghan for Objects-Interiors (Hugh Le Caine Awards).

The SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers is open to Canadian citizens 30 years of age and under. A complete list of winners, with biographies, is available on the SOCAN Foundation website.