McDonald’s Canada lovin’ it with SOCAN Licensed to Play Award

Senior Marketing Manager for McDonald's Canada Chuck Coolen accepting SOCAN’s 2014 Licensed to Play Award at the 25th Anniversary SOCAN Awards.
July 15, 2014

McDonald’s Canada was the deserving recipient of the inaugural SOCAN Licensed to Play Award on June 16 2014, for its innovative use of live music in the company’s McCafé Music Tour campaign, an initiative that supported SOCAN members by bringing their work to more than 100 McCafé locations across Ontario, all legally and ethically licensed in partnership with SOCAN.

SOCAN’s President Stan Meissner presented the award, and stressed the important role that SOCAN’s partners in business play in the music industry, saying that “without the businesses that are Licensed To Play music, the music might stop.

“Just as bars, restaurants, clubs, fitness centres, retail stores and offices need music for the good of their business, our songwriters and music publishers need these licensed music users in order to earn a living.”

Accepting the award on behalf of the global chain was Chuck Coolen, senior marketing manager at McDonald's Canada. “We are very pleased with how the McCafé Music Tour helped establish the McCafé brand across the province,” said Coolen. “Partnering with SOCAN and local musicians brought the coffeehouse experience to life in 150 McCafé locations across Ontario.”

Conceived in 2003, the Licensed to Play award (formerly known as the Patron of Music Award) has honoured a number of SOCAN’s partnerships established over the years, including those with Skate Canada, CTV, The Funeral Service Association of Canada, and eMusic.

“It’s always been vital for us to recognize businesses licensed with SOCAN,” said Jennifer Brown, SOCAN’s vice president of licensing. “They are doing the right and legal thing by becoming licensed to play music. The Licensed To Play Award celebrates those partnerships.”

The night also honoured a number of Canada’s songwriters, including several members of MAGIC!, Deric Ruttan, Carly Ray Jepsen, Serena Ryder, several members of Walk Off the Earth, Bill Henderson, and the legendary Gordon Lightfoot.

To see a recap of the rest of the awards show, click here.