More than 20 SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore nominated in 2017 musical LEO Awards

Jeff Toyne, one of SOCAN’s #ComposersWhoAcore, is nominated for a 2017 LEO Award for Best Musical Score in a Dramatic Series. (Photo: Tiana Feng)
May 3, 2017

More than 20 SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore have been nominated for seven musical honours in the 2017 edition of the LEO Awards, which celebrate excellence each year in British Columbia film and television. The awards, sponsored in part by SOCAN, will be presented June 3, 2017, at the Hyatt Regency Vancouver – the second of three award ceremonies evenings, with the first on May 27, 2017, and the gala final on June 4, 2017.

SOCAN congratulates all of the nominees:

Best Musical Score in a Motion Picture
Mark Dolmont for Cadence
Matthew Rogers for  Darc
Daryl Bennett for  Lost Solace
Richard Walters for The Sun at Midnight

Best Musical Score in a Television Movie
Rich Walters for Dead Rising: Endgame
Matthew Rogers for Death of a Vegas Showgirl
Matthew Rogers for  Who Killed JonBenét?

Best Musical Score in a Short Drama
Blake Matthew and Vaughn Swenson for A Family of Ghosts
Gilles Maillet for The Cameraman
Alexz Johnson and Marko Koumoulas for The Dishwasher
Carlos Valdes (ASCAP) and Jesse L. Martin for The Letter Carrier
James Danderfer for Trying

Best Musical Score in a Dramatic Series
Hamish Thomson for  Chesapeake Shores - "Second Chances" episode
Jeff Toyne for Rogue - "Maria, Full Of Grace" episode
Brent Belke for You Me Her - "Sex Fairy and the Eternal Flames" episode

Best Musical Score in a Feature-Length Documentary
Dennis Burke for A New Moon Over Tohoku
Michael Richard Plowman for Avenues Of Escape
Schaun Tozer for Chasing Evel: The Robbie Knievel Story
Schaun Tozer for Spirit Unforgettable
Daryl Bennett for The Connected Universe

Best Musical Score in a Short Documentary Program
Cayne McKenzie, David Menzel, and Andrew Huculiak for Above Club
Jason Mitchell for Before She's Gone
David F. Ramos for  Forgotten Huts
David F. Ramos for My Heart In Kenya
Daniel Ross for Srorrim

Best Musical Score in an Animation Program or Series
Michael Richard Plowman for Ghost Patrol
Daniel Ingram for My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic - "A Hearths Warming Tail" episode
Jessie Farrell, Allan Rodger, and Ryan Stewart for Scout & the Gumboot Kids - "The Case Of The Tag Along Twin" episode
Taymaz Saba for Window Horses

For more information and a complete list of winners visit the awards website.