Nominees announced for 2017 Canadian Country Music Association Awards

Dean Brody, pictured playing a SOCAN Session in 2016, is nominated in five categories of the 2017 Canadian Country Music Association Awards (CCMAs). (Photo: Tiana Feng)
July 12, 2017

The Canadian Country Music Association (CCMA) has announced its full list of nominees for the 2017 CCMA Awards, and The James Barker Band, Brett Kissel, and Dean Brody lead the pack with a total of five nominations each. Following closely with four nominations is Dallas Smith, while High Valley and Meghan Patrick have earned three apiece.

Nominees for Songwriter(s) of the Year, presented by music publisher ole, are:

  • “Chills,” written by James Barker, Gavin Slate, Travis Wood, and Donovan Woods, performed by The James Barker Band
  • “Cool With That,” written by Brett Kissel, Ted Hewitt, Phil O'Donnell, performed by Brett Kissel
  • “Found,” written by Dan Davidson and Clayton Bellamy, performed by Dan Davidson
  • “Time,” written and performed by Dean Brody
  • “Workin' On Whiskey,” written by Jessica Mitchell, Patricia Conroy, and David Thomson, perfomed by Jessica Mitchell

Forty-two CCMA Awards will be given out over three ceremonies during PotashCorp Country Music Week in Saskatoon, SK, from Sept. 7-10, 2017. Key awards will be given out during the 2016 CCMA Awards Show, to be held Sunday, Sept. 10 at the SaskTel Centre, and broadcast live on on CBC-TV at 8:00 p.m. ET (8:30 p.m. NT). Perfomers announced for the show so far are Dean Brody, Brett Kissel and Jess Moskaluke.

For a complete list of nominees, visit the CCMA website.