Nominees to perform at 2018 JUNO Gala Dinner and Awards Presented by SOCAN

JUNO nominee Iskwé (pictured in 2015) will perform at the 2018 JUNO Gala Dinner and Awards Presented by SOCAN.
March 15, 2018

JUNO Award nominees Clairmont The Second, Iskwé, James Barker Band, Terra Lightfoot, and Caveboy will hit the stage at the 2018 JUNO Gala Dinner and Awards Presented by SOCAN, on Saturday, March 24, at the Vancouver Convention Centre.

Clairmont The Second is nominated for Rap Recording of the Year; Iskwé, for Indigenous Music Album of the Year; James Barker Band, for Breakthrough Group and Country Album of the Year; Terra Lightfoot, for Adult Alternative Album of the Year. Caveboy are one of the 2018 Allan Slaight JUNO Master Class winners.

The industry ceremony, hosted by CBC q's Tom Power, will honour artists and industry representatives with 36 JUNO Awards. This year’s special achievement awards will also be presented at the event, including the 2018 International Achievement Award (Arcade Fire), Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award (Denise Donlon), the MusiCounts Inspired Minds Ambassador Award presented by the Canadian Scholarship Trust Foundation (Jim Cuddy), and the Humanitarian Award (Gary Slaight).

“As we honour the creators of the Canadian music industry, we’re thrilled to have an outstanding group of nominees perform at the JUNO Gala Dinner and Awards,” said Allan Reid, President & CEO, CARAS/The JUNO Awards and MusiCounts . “We’re also proud to partner with SOCAN to celebrate the achievements of our homegrown talent.”

“SOCAN is excited to once again present the JUNO Gala Dinner and Awards, honouring the diversity of talent, genres and identities that make us collectively so successful,” said Eric Baptiste, CEO of SOCAN. “This evening is emblematic of the shared commitment of CARAS, the JUNO Awards, and our extended music-industry family, to foster a bright future for music creators. Canadian music is at the heart of SOCAN, and we’re dedicated to ensuring fair compensation for the extraordinary talent and hard work of songwriters, screen composers and music publishers.”

The night will be live-streamed, beginning at 6:00 p.m. PT (9:00 p.m. ET) via and CBC Music's Facebook and YouTube pages, and will allow music fans across the nation to get an intimate look into the celebrations.