Ria Mae earns five honurs, including SOCAN Songwriter of the Year, at 2016 Music Nova Scotia Awards

Ria Mae, photographed at the 2016 JUNO Awards. (Photo: Jeff Knights)
November 8, 2016

Ria Mae won the SOCAN Songwriter of the Year honours for her song “Gold”, published by Nettwerk One Music Canada, at the 2016 Music Nova Scotia Awards, held Nov. 6, 2016,  at the Holiday Inn and Conference Centre in Truro, NS. Classified won three awards, and Ben Caplan received two.

Mae’s four other awards were given for Recording, Music Video, Digital Artist, and Pop Recording of the Year. One of Classified’s three awards was tendered for co-writing “Gold” with Mae (as well as John Fortis, and Emre Ramazanoglu), and the other two were for Producer and Hip Hop Recording of the Year. Ben Caplan walked away with Entertainer and Folk Recording of the Year.

Various SOCAN licensees also won awards in the industry categories, including The Pavilion, for Community Presenter of the Year; Casino Nova Scotia, for Corporate Sponsor of the Year; and The Carleton Music Bar & Grill, for Venue of the Year; Halifax Is Burning (CKDU 88.1FM), for Radio Program of the Year; and CKDU itself, for Radio Station of the Year.

For more information, and a complete list of winners, click here.

There was also a well-attended music rights/publishing conference in advance of the awards, at which representatives from SOCAN (Member & Industry Relations Excutive Tim Hardy), the Canadian Music Reproduction Rights Agency (CMRRA), and the Music Rights Organizaztion of Canada (MROC), led and participated in panels explaining what each of these organizations does; what a music publisher does; performing rights; mechanical rights; neighbouring rights; how licensing works; how music rights work in the digital age; and how the blockchain might change the music industry. The keynote speaks was David Lowery, the outspoken critic of Silicon Valley and its treatment of artists and content creators, who's testified to the U.S. congress twice on behalf of artists.

SOCAN publisher members attending the conference included members Jodie Ferneyhough (CCS Rights), Patrick Zulinov (Hyvetown Music), Vince Degiorgio (Cymba Music Publishing), Brad Machry (True North). 

In other recent Atlantic music award ceremonies, “All the Words” by The Motorleague won SOCAN Song of the Year honours at the 2016 Music New Brunswick Awards, while “SOCAN on the Farm” song camp participant Chris Kirby was chosen as the Ron Hynes SOCAN Songwriter of the Year at the 2016 MusicNL (Newfoundland) Awards.