Six SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore win in 2018 Canadian Screen Awards

Among other 2018 Canadian Screen Award-winning SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore were Mychael Danna (left) and his brother Jeff Danna (right), who earned the Achievement in Music – Original Score trophy for The Breadwinner.
March 12, 2018

Six SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore were honoured in musical categories of the 2018 Canadian Screen Awards.

The winners are:


Achievement in Music – Original Score
Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna, for The Breadwinner
Published by Soft Pedal and 1554363 Ontario Inc., administered by MRD Music Revenue Data


Best Original Music, Non-Fiction
Gord Downie and Kevin Drew (with Dave Hamelin), for The Secret Path
Published by Arts & Crafts and Wiener Art Inc.

Best Original Music, Fiction
Todor Kobakov (with Jody Colero), for Cardinal
Published by eOne Entertainment, administered by ole

Best Original Music, Animation
Steffan Andrews, for Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, “Bacon Girl” episode
Published by Encode Publishing, administered by Universal Music Publishing Group

Other SOCAN member winners, in non-musical categories,are

Host in a TV program or series
Jonathan Torrens for Your Special Canada

Writing in a Dramatic TV Program or Miniseries
Sarah Polley for Alias Grace

Academy Board of Directors’ Tribute
Margaret Atwood

For a list of all the SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore nominees, click here. For a complete list of all of the nominees and winners, click here.

SOCAN congratulates all of our winners on these great achievements!