SOCAN’s Eddie Schwartz elected President of CIAM

November 21, 2017

Eddie Schwartz, SOCAN’s representative in Nashville, and a previous six-term member of SOCAN's Board of Directors, has been elected President of the International Council of Music Creators (CIAM). He’s the first and only non-European to be elected to the presidency in the organization’s 51-year history.

Schwartz, a professional songwriter and producer, is best known for writing such classic hit songs as “Hit Me with Your Best Shot,” recorded by Pat Benatar, “Don’t Shed A Tear” by Paul Carrack, and “The Doctor” by The Doobie Brothers. He’s also written some 200 songs recorded and performed by artists such as Joe Cocker, Carly Simon, Robert Palmer, America, Jeffrey Osborne, Donna Summer, Rita Coolidge, Martina McBride, Rascal Flatts and Mountain.

A member of the Order of Canada, Schwartz previously served as President of the Songwriters Association of Canada, Co-Chair of Music Creators North America, Chair of Fair Trade Music International, and Vice President of CIAM.

SOCAN congratulates Eddie Schwartz on this singular achievement!