SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore win seven 2017 LEO Awards

Richard Walters won Best Musical Score in a Motion Picture, for The Sun at Midnight, at the 2017 LEO Awards.
June 8, 2017

SOCAN was a proud sponsor of the 17th annual LEO Awards, celebrating excellence in British Columbia film and television. The Celebration Awards Two were presented on June 3, 2017, at the Hyatt Regency in Vancouver, where our SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore walked away with all but one of the eight musical honours.

Prizes were awarded as follows:

  • Best Musical Score in a Motion Picture to Richard Walters, for The Sun at Midnight
  • Best Musical Score in a Television Movie to Matthew Rogers for Who Killed JonBenét?
  • Best Musical Score in a Short Drama to Carlos Valdes and Jesse L. Martin (neither are SOCAN), for The Letter Carrier
  • Best Musical Score in a Dramatic Series to Jeff Toyne, for Rogue – “Maria, Full of Grace” episode
  • Best Musical Score in a Feature-Length Documentary to Michael Richard Plowman, for Avenues of Escape
  • Best Musical Score in a Short Documentary Program to Daniel Ross for Srorrim
  • Best Musical Score in an Animation Program or Series to Taymaz Saba for Window Horses
  • Best Music Video to Jessie Farrell for Just In Time

Music for the 2017 LEO Awards was provided by Eli Bennett & EB Funk, with a performance by one of last year’s music-category winners, Red Heartbreaker.

The LEO Awards offer an excellent opportunity for SOCAN members who work in film and television to celebrate their accomplishments and network with producers, directors and local industry players. Attending from SOCAN were Sara Pavilionis and Barbara Sedun.

For more information and a complete list of winners visit the awards website.