SOCAN honours K'naan with two SOCAN No. 1 Song Awards

Photo: Michelle Dubuc
September 29, 2010

SOCAN was pleased to honour K'naan with two No. 1 Awards for his songs “Wavin' Flag” and "Take a Minute." The former song (in its Young Artists for Haiti benefit version) reached the top spot on the  MuchMusic Countdown on May 20, 2010, while the latter one scaled the peak of the MuchMoreMusic Countdown on Sept. 17, 2010.

SOCAN account executive Michelle Dubuc presented K'naan with his No. 1 Award plaques backstage at Vancouver's Malkin Bowl just prior to his concert there on Sept. 25, 2010. Since the venue is outdoors, so was the presentation, which took place under dark and cloudy skies – although the rain held off until after the plaques were awarded. A kind and gracious K'naan thanked SOCAN for the honour.

K'naan's co-writers on "Wavin' Flag" are Jean Daval (SESAC), Peter Hernandez (a.k.a. Mars Bruno) and Phillip Lawrence (both ASCAP). His co-writers on "Take a Minute" are Gerald Eaton and Brian West of the Track & Field production team (both SOCAN).

The publishers of "Wavin' Flag" are Sony ATV Music Publishing Canada, Casablanca Media Publishing Inc. (both SOCAN), 67 Sounds (SESAC), Music Famamanem, Roc Nation Music (both ASCAP) and Bug Music (BMI).The publishers of "Take a Minute" are Sony ATV Music Publishing Canada, Mawga Dawg Inc. and Worldwide West Music Inc. (all SOCAN).