SOCAN Montréal Awards Gala honours 80 music creators, publishers

Some of the 2016 SOCAN Montréal Awards winners. Left to right: (top row) Safia Nolin (Breakout Award), Alain Chartrand (Special Achievement Award), Ariane Moffatt (Songwriter of the Year), Richard Séguin (Lifetime Achievement Award), Luc Fortin, Québec Minister of Culture & Communications, Stéphane Venne (Cultural Impact Award); (bottom row) SOCAN’s CEO Eric Baptiste, SOCAN Chief Quebec Affairs Officer Geneviève Côté, Luc Plamondon (two SOCAN Classics). (Photo: Frédérique Ménard-Aubin)
September 13, 2016

See the complete Winners List

Official Winners' Photos
Gala Awards Show
Red Carpet & Cocktail Reception

The 27th edition of SOCAN's Montréal Awards Gala was held last night at the iconic Métropolis in Montréal as the who's-who of the music industry gathered to salute the careers and accomplishments of francophone songwriters, composers, and music publishers.

The CULTURAL IMPACT AWARD was presented to French-Canadian songwriter Stéphane Venne for his legendary anthem "Le début d'un temps nouveau." Singer-songwriters Klô Pelgag, Pierre Kwenders and Loud Lary Ajust performed a bold version of the classic before a crowd of more than 400.

Ariane Moffatt received the prestigious SOCAN SONGWRITER OF THE YEAR award, and was also honoured with a SOCAN POPULAR SONG AWARD for "Debout." The international achievements of two young, extraordinary singer-songwriters, Cœur de Pirate and Grimes, were each honoured with the SOCAN INTERNATIONAL AWARD. Cœur de pirate also received a POPULAR SONG award for her hit, "Carry On."

The SOCAN LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD was presented to Richard Séguin, one of Québec's most iconic artists, whose career spans four decades. To pay tribute to his prodigious contributions, a medley of some of his most famous songs was performed by Patrice Michaud (who himself won a SOCAN POPULAR SONG AWARD for "Je cours après Marie"), Elisapie Isaac, Luce Dufault, Coral Egan and Pierre Flynn.

The SOCAN SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD was presented to Alain Chartrand, the founder of the Coup de cœur francophone music festival. As the General Manager and Artistic Director of this festival, which celebrates its 30th year in November, his passion and authenticity have made the event one of the most important in Canada, thanks to consistently bold, high-quality programming.

The inaugural SOCAN PUBLISHER OF THE YEAR award was presented to Ho-Tune, recognizing its significant contribution to the music community.

Other highlights of the Gala included a tribute to Dédé Fortin and his Colocs by Guy Bélanger (harmonica) and Stéphane Archambault, Jonathan Painchaud, Philippe Brach, 2Frères and Alexe Gaudreault. 2Frères and Gaudreault also received SOCAN POPULAR SONG awards for "Nous autres" and "Placebo," respectively. Their songs "Dédé," "La rue Principale," "Juste une p'tite nuite," "Passe-moé la puck" and "Julie," each an official SOCAN Classic, touched everyone who attended the celebration, which was directed by SOCAN member Yann Perreau.

"Our songwriters, composers, and music publishers are incredibly talented, creative and, in many cases, have had impressive longevity," said SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste. "Tonight's gala masterfully and deservedly shone a bright light and celebrated them for the crucial role they play in defining our culture and the undeniable positive economic impact of their work. We're proud to honour their accomplishments and congratulate them for their SOCAN Awards."

The evening also recognized the exceptional contribution of composers and publishers of music for film and television, and their contribution to our economy. Award winners included Rudy Toussaint and his publishers, Éditions Marie Claire, ole, and Intermède Music, who received two awards, and Edouardo Noya Schreus who received the SOCAN ACHIEVEMENT IN FEATURE FILM MUSIC for his work on Xavier Dolan's Mommy.

The songwriters, composers and music publishers of 11 SOCAN CLASSICS – honoured for at least 25,000 radio plays – included several songs by the indomitable rocker Éric Lapointe, the late-lamented Dédé Fortin and his illustrious Colocs, Luc Plamondon, and Nelson Minville. Performances of the newly certified SOCAN Classics by special guests surprised and moved the audience, with Fanny Bloom singing "Terre promise," Matt Holubowski making "N'importe quoi" his own, and King Melrose rocking "Marie Stone" -- all three songs classics of Éric Lapointe's repertoire.

Alfa Rococo revisited "Piaf chanterait du rock" (Luc Plamondon/Germain Gauthier), a song made famous by Marie Carmen. Roch Voisine transfixed the crowd with his interpretation of Luc Plamondon and François Cousineau's "Ma mère chantait toujours," followed by Jérôme Couture's interpretation of "Les bras de Satan," one of singer-songwriter Nelson Minville's biggest hits.