SOCAN reception celebrates members nominated for 2018 Canadian Screen Awards

Canadian Screen Awards 2018 double nominees Amin Bhatia and Ari Posner at SOCAN reception for our nominated members, held March 6, 2018, at The Hyatt Regency Hotel in downtown Toronto. (Photo: Tiana Feng)
March 9, 2018

SOCAN celebrated our #ComposersWhoScore nominated in the 2018 Canadian Screen Awards with a reception at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in downtown Toronto, on March 6, 2018.

Attending SOCAN-member nominees included Ben Fox, Devin Doucette, Philip Strong, Thomas Hoy, John Welsman, Christian Szczesniak, Amin Bhatia, and Ari Posner. To check the work for which they’re nominated, click here.  At the reception, SOCAN conducted video interviews with almost all of the aforementioned #ComposersWhoScore, as well as attending screen composer Erica Procunier, and music publishers Cheryl Link of peermusic and Aideen O’Brien of eOne Entertainment, so keep watching as we upload the results.

"The work of screen composers is very important to SOCAN," said SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste, as he addressed the gathering. “In 2017 we collected more than $350 million in revenue, and a large part of that is for screen composers. We also published more than 25 news stories on our SOCAN platforms as part of our #ComposersWhoScore campaign.”

In addition to Baptiste, SOCAN attendees included Rodney Murphy, Melissa Cameron-Passley, Aidan D’Aoust, Brandi Pickering, Gary Laranja, Paul Stillo, Bruce Landon, Daryl Hamilton, and member of SOCAN’s Board of Directors Glenn Morley.