Steve Strongman wins SOCAN-sponsored Maple Blues Songwriter Award

SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste (right) presents Steve Strongman with the SOCAN-sponsored Songwriter of the Year trophy at the 2013 Maple Blues Awards. (Photo: James Dean)
January 22, 2013

SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste presented Hamilton bluesman Steve Strongman with the SOCAN-sponsored Songwriter of the Year honours at the 16th annual Maple Blues Awards, presented by the Toronto Blues Society on Jan. 21, 2013, at Koerner Hall in Toronto. Strongman also earned two other honours, for Guitar Player and Recording of the Year (the latter for his album A Natural Fact).

The other big winner of the night was Ottawa-based trio MonkeyJunk, whose members took home three awards, including Electric Act, Harmonica Player (Steve Marriner) and Drummer of the Year (Matt Sobb). Toronto's Suzie Vinnick won awards for Acoustic Act and Female Vocalist of the Year. Veteran Nova Scotian bluesman Matt Minglewood was presented the Blues With A Feeling Award in recognition of his career of more than four decades.

The awards ceremonies were hosted by Canadian blues community stalwart Raoul Bhaneja and highlighted by a series of standout performances from Harrison Kennedy, Nanette Workman and Carlos del Junco, among others.

During the Blues Summit 6 weekend leading up to the awards, SOCAN presented a “Songs & Stories” songwriters circle at the host hotel the Delta Chelsea on Jan. 19, with performances and conversation from host David Gogo and participants Shakura S’Aida, Michael Jerome Browne and The Harpoonist & the Axe Murderer.

The Maple Blues Awards are funded in part by the SOCAN Foundation. For a complete list of this year’s winners, visit the Maple Blues Awards website.