Tegan and Sara, Murray McLauchlan earn 2018 Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards

Tegan and Sara in 2013.
March 9, 2018

SOCAN members Tegan and Sara, and Murray McLauchlan, have received the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards, and will be honoured at a gala ceremony in Ottawa on June 2, 2018.

Singer-songwriter pop duo and activists Tegan and Sara have received the National Arts Centre Award for their musical success, as well as their advocacy for gender equality, LGBTQ rights, and progressive social change.

Tegan and Sara took to Twitter to respond to the award, saying: "We are thrilled and extremely proud to be the 2018 recipients of Canada's @GovGPAA National Arts Centre Award. We both feel quite honoured to be recognized at this level in our country and we'd like to offer our congratulations to all the other 2018 laureates! #GGAwards"

Murray McLauchlan

A former member of SOCAN's Board of Directors, much-celebrated singer-songwriter Murray McLauchlan will add a Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award to his list of great accomplishments.

Other artists receiving this lifetime honour are classical pianist Angela Hewitt, SCTV producer Andrew Alexander, internationally acclaimed Québec actress Geneviève Bujold, National Arts Centre president Peter Herrndorf, and dancer and choreographer Ginette Laurin.

The annual Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards recognize the excellence and career achievement of Canadian performing artists, including actors, filmmakers, dancers and musicians.