Video: Jean Leloup wins two ADISQ Awards, Fred Fortin named Songwriter of the Year

SOCAN member Jean Leloup won the Concert of the Year—Singer-songwriter, and the Male Singer of the Year at the Gala de l’ADISQ on Oct. 30, 2016. (Photo: Eric Parazelli)
October 31, 2016

Many SOCAN members were honoured during the 2017 edition of the Gala de l’ADISQ on Oct. 30, 2016. The illustrious Jean Leloup left Montréal’s Place des Arts with two trophies, Concert of the Year by a singer-songwriter for his “Fantôme de Paradis City” concert, as well as the Male Singer of the Year award. Leloup spoke with Paroles & Musique Editor Eric Parazelli immediately after winning the first of his two awards. Last year, the artist won the ADISQ Awards for Songwriter, Song (“Paradis City”) and Singer of the Year, and the 2016 gala marked the end of the album cycle for him. In our interview, he talks about his vision of a stage show and his admiration for, wait for it… Willie Lamothe!

As for SOCAN member Fred Fortin, he won the coveted Songwriter of the Year for his creative work on the Ultramarr album. Celebrating the 20th Anniversary of his first album, he expressed his deep gratitude for finally winning an award that his family, friends and fans long hoped he would.

Other winners of the night include 2Frères — Pop Album of the Year for Nous Autres, as well ad Group or Duo of the Year; Les Soeurs Boulay — Folk Album of the Year for 4488 de l’Amour; Les Cowboys Fringants — Rock Album of the year for Octobre” Safia Nolin—Breakout Artist of the year, an award she also won at the Gala de la SOCAN last September; Marc Dupré — Song of the Year for “Ton depart,” co-written with Amélie Laroque and published by Éditions Dama Inc,, David Murphy et cie., and Productions Vincent Beaulieu; Fred Pellerin — Concert of the Year, Singer; Marie-Mai — Female Singer of the Year.

Céline Dion made quite an impression when she accepted the Lifetime Achievement Award given to her late lamented husband and agent, René Angelil. Video interviews with some of these winners will be published in the coming days.

For a complete list of the Gala de l’ADISQ’s winners, visit the web site.