Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Alana Levandoski


Singer-songwriter

Song – "Red Rover" - Now Playing ...

Bio
Alana Levandoski’s new album Lions & Werewolves was recorded in a 100-year-old church in rural Kelwood, Manitoba, and at the upscale Parr Street Studios in Liverpool, England. The album was produced by British helmsman Ken Nelson, renowned for his work with Gomez, Coldplay, Badly Drawn Boy and Paolo Nutini.

“I had always wanted Ken to record this album,” Levandoski explains. “I wanted someone outside of the roots world who is a fan of popular music, but I had no idea how I was going to go about getting him. It was my big dream.”

Luckily, one of Alana’s writing partners provided a link. “I was writing in Toronto with Simon Wilcox, and she mentioned that she knew Ken,” recalls Levandoski. “We got in touch with Ken and he heard my songs. I also played a gig in Liverpool. I think he was intrigued by me, and he thought I was a good songwriter.”

Levandoski had already gained the respect of much of the music world with her outstanding debut album Unsettled Down, released by Rounder Records in 2006. Reviews of Unsettled Down were plentiful and enthusiastic. Levandoski was profiled in numerous U.K. publications, including Maverick and The London Times, and in such national Canadian magazines as Maclean’s, Chart and Penguin Eggs.

Following Unsettled Down, Levandoski co-wrote with such leading American songwriters as Quinn Loggins, Sam Ashworth, James LeBlanc, Rebecca Lynn Howard, Rachel Thibodeau, and Gary Nichols. She also co-wrote with Canadians Sylvia Tyson, Colin Cripps, and Simon Wilcox. Levandoski toured the U.K. and Europe four times, sharing bills with Dar Williams, Bruce Cockburn, Blue Rodeo, and Lynn Miles. In Canada, she toured nationally with the Corb Lund Band and did dates with Stephen Fearing, The Arrogant Worms, and Tanya Tucker.

The experiences she was having were related to her work, as is reflected in the emotionally-charged music of Lions & Werewolves. “When I began thinking about this record, I knew I wanted an evolution,” says Levandoski. “I also wanted to allow myself to grow organically, and to listen to my instincts. The album is very organic. Some people might be surprised that it evolved as much as it did. But I had over two years of touring in eight countries. And working with Ken Nelson, I wanted someone to put a twist to what I do."

“I really believe in Alana,” says legendary BBC Radio 2 announcer Bob Harris. “Her songs are intelligent, warm and strong. She’s a

Performances/news this month
April 26 - Los Angeles, MusExpo, The Viper Room, 8 p.m.

Website
www.alanalevandoski.com

Discography
Lions & Werewolves (2009)
Unsettled Down (2005)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2003

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Alana Levandoski


Auteure-compositrice-interprète

La chanson - « Red Rover » est en ondes...

Bio
Lions & Werewolves, le nouvel album d’Alana Levandoski, fut enregistré dans une église vieille de 100 ans à Kelwood, Manitoba, et dans les très courus Parr Street Studios de Liverpool, Angleterre. Il a été produit par Ken Nelson, connu par son travail avec Gomez, Coldplay, Badly Drawn Boy et Paolo Nutini.

« J’ai toujours voulu que Ken enregistre cet album, dit Alana Levandoski. Je voulais quelqu’un qui ne soit pas du genre roots, un fan de la musique populaire. Je n’avais aucune idée de comment l’approcher. C’était mon rêve. »

Heureusement pour elle, une de ses partenaires d’écriture a fait le lien. « J’écrivais à Toronto avec Simon Wilcox, et elle m’a appris qu’elle le connaissait. Nous l’avons contacté et il a écouté mes chansons. J’ai aussi donné un spectacle à Liverpool. J’ai attiré son attention et je crois qu’il a trouvé que j’écrivais bien. »

Alana Levandoski avait déjà obtenu le respect de l’industrie avec son premier album Unsettled Down, lancé par Rounder Records en 2006. Les critiques furent très enthousiastes et Alana obtint des profils dans plusieurs publications anglaises, comme Maverick et The London Times, de même que dans des magazines canadiens comme Maclean’s, Chart et Penguin Eggs.

À la suite de Unsettled Down, Alana Levandoski a co-écrit avec des auteurs américains connus comme Quinn Loggins, Sam Ashworth, James LeBlanc, Rebecca Lynn Howard, Rachel Thibodeau et Gary Nichols. Elle a aussi collaboré avec des Canadiens comme Sylvia Tyson, Colin Cripps et Simon Wilcox. Alana a fait quatre tournées en Europe et au Royaume-Uni, avec des artistes comme Dar Williams, Bruce Cockburn, Blue Rodeo et Lynn Miles. Au Canada, elle s’est produite avec le Corb Lund Band et à certaines occasions avec Stephen Fearing, The Arrogant Worms et Tanya Tucker.

Ces expériences ont nourri la production de Lions & Werewolves. « Je voulais évoluer pour mon deuxième album. Et je voulais grandir et écouter mes instincts. L’album est très organique. Certains ont pu être surpris de mon évolution. Mais j’avais fait plus de deux ans de tournées dans huit pays. Et le travail avec Ken Nelson m’a permis de rajouter encore plus de piment. »

« Je croyais vraiment en Alana, a déclaré Bob Harris, le légendaire animateur de la 2e chaîne de la radio de la BBC. Ses chansons sont intelligentes, chaleureuses et fortes. C’est une bonne artiste, courageuse. »

Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
26 avril - Los Angeles, MusExpo, The Viper Room, 20h

Site Internet
www.alanalevandoski.com

Discographie
Lions & Werewolves (2009)
Unsettled Down (2005)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2003