Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Alex Nevsky


Singer-songwriter

Song – "Notre Cœur" - Now playing...

Bio
Alex Nevsky discovered at a very young age that he was born to create words and music. Inspired by such flamboyant French hip-hop artists as IAM and Oxmo Puccino, he did his own deep soul-searching to write lyrics, and registered in literature at a local CÉGEP school. During ten intensive months, he later obtained formal songwriter training at the École nationale de la chanson de Granby, where he listened to tons of recordings, honed his voice, took up the guitar and piano, and developed as a natural-born writer of pop and rock songs.


Soon after graduating, Nevsky obtained a highly coveted research and creation fellowship from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec that allowed him to work on his music full-time. During that period, he became friends with Yann Perreau, who produced his first album and took him along as an opening act on one of his tours, including the final date in Montreal’s La Tulipe hall.

No stranger to music festivals and competitions, Nevsky reached the semi-finals of the 2009 Festival international de la chanson de Granby and the finals of the February 2010 Francouvertes competition. He also won the Special Award of the Office Québec-Wallonie pour la jeunesse, and toured with the MusicPlus Coup de pouce during the Vue sur la relève festival in May 2010. To top it all off, Nevsky made the list of Radio-Canada Musical Revelations for the 2010-11 period. His debut album, De lune à l’aube, was released in August 2010 under the Audiogram label. It contains 12 songs in styles ranging from pop to rock through kitsch and slam music. “Notre Cœur” (“Our Heart”) was quickly picked up by a number of radio stations.

Performances/news this month
Sept. 16 – 5:00 p.m., Le Plato Bar à Tapas, Granby, Quebec,
Sept. 18 – Le Cercle, Quebec City

Website
http://alexnevsky.ca
www.myspace.com/alexnevskymusique

Discography
De lune à l’aube (2010)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2010

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Alex Nevsky


Auteur-compositeur-interprète

La chanson - « Notre Cœur » est en ondes...

Bio
Alex Nevsky se découvre très tôt un penchant incontrôlable pour l'écriture et la mélodie. Inspiré par les flamboyants artistes de hip-hop IAM et Oxmo Puccino, Alex se retourne l’intérieur dans tous les sens pour écrire des textes. Il s’inscrit en lettres au CÉGEP avant d’être admis à l’École nationale de la chanson de Granby. Durant les dix mois intensifs de sa formation, il écoute des tonnes de disques, affûte sa voix et apprend à jouer de la guitare et du piano. Son style dérive naturellement vers la chanson, la pop et le rock.


Fraîchement diplômé, il obtient l’une des convoitées bourses de recherche et création du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, ce qui lui permet de se dédier corps et âme à la musique. Pendant sa période de création, Alex se lie d’amitié avec Yann Perreau. Celui-ci collabore au cheminement d’Alex en assurant la réalisation de son premier album, ainsi qu’en l’invitant en première partie de sa tournée, dont sa rentrée montréalaise à La Tulipe.

De plus, Nevsky promène son art dans divers festivals et concours. Il atteint la demi-finale du Festival international de la chanson de Granby en 2009 et la finale des Francouvertes en février 2010. Alex remporte aussi le prix spécial de l’Office Québec-Wallonie pour la jeunesse et repart avec le Coup de pouce de Musique Plus lors du festival Vue sur la relève en mai 2010. Pour couronner le tout, Radio-Canada annonce au mois de juin qu’il figure parmi ses Révélations Radio-Canada Musique pour la période 2010-2011. Son premier album, De lune à l’aube, paraît fin août 2010 sous étiquette Audiogram. On y retrouve 12 chansons qui oscillent entre le rock, la pop, le kitsch et le slam. Un premier extrait, intitulé « Notre Cœur », se fait rapidement entendre en radios.

Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
16 septembre - 17h, Granby, Québec, Le Plato Bar à Tapas
18 septembre - Ville du Québec, Le Cercle

Site Internet
http://alexnevsky.ca
www.myspace.com/alexnevskymusique

Discographie
De lune à l’aube (2010)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2010