Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Amélie Larocque


Songwriter, guitarist

Song – "Papa"
- Now playing...

Bio
Amélie Larocque pulls songs out of thin air. Sitting at the piano, the charismatic 23-year-old singer-songwriter effortlessly lines up the notes that will flow into her next opus. She waits for the lyrics to follow naturally while making sure that everything she writes down has the ring of truth. But she also likes to spice up her catchy tunes with mean electric guitar riffs and unusual vocal accompaniments. She then delivers the finished product with self-assured intensity, welcoming her audience into a musical world where the most delicate topics can be approached with just the right measures of hope and simplicity.


Larocque got her first taste of musical stardom while performing on her grandparents’ kitchen table, and never looked back. A seasoned performer by the age of four, she followed her instinct all along and ended up entering the Drummondville CEGEP, where she was able to develop her art and her voice. Her teachers pulled her out of school and got her hired for a variety of performing dates. She qualified for the 2006 Découvertes de la Chanson de Magog competition, where she was the winner in the Performance category.

Back in Drummondvile, she met with some musicians with whom she created the Old Fashion Morphine blues band, whose swinging groove was a hit at the 2007 Tremblant International Blues Festival. Old Fashion Morphine’s unbridled blues style was the perfect vehicle for the young singer, who could freely express the wilder rhythmic and rock side of her vocal performances. She soon began writing songs that were sometimes moving, sometimes provocative, but always real, treating the stage as her studio and often creating new vocal accompaniments, percussive parts or melodies in front of rapt audiences.

Now an accomplished artist, Larocque competed as a singer-songwriter in a variety of contests and festivals, including the 2008 Granby International Song Festival and the 2009 ChantEauFête de Charlevoix festival, where she won an award that came with a spot at the Festival Pully-Lavaux in Switzerland and an opportunity to impress the local media and music critics on the other side of the Atlantic. Larocque’s self-titled debut album was released in 2010.

Performances/news this month
Nov. 25 - Abbotsford, QC, St. Paul Church, Neige Benefit Concert

Website
www.amelielarocque.com

Discography

Amélie Larocque (2010)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2008

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Amélie Larocque


Auteure-compositrice-interprète

La chanson – « Papa » est en ondes...

Bio

Amélie Larocque attrape les chansons au vol, comme les lucioles. Assise à son piano, la charismatique auteure-compositrice interprète de 23 ans aligne sans les forcer les notes de ce qui deviendra son prochain opus. Elle laisse les mots venir à elle en toute simplicité et veille fidèlement à l’authenticité de son message. Amélie dévergonde ses mélodies toujours accrocheuses en y ajoutant guitares électriques et accompagnements vocaux uniques, avant de nous les présenter avec aplomb et intensité. Elle sait trouver avec justesse la chanson qui saura porter les thèmes les plus délicats. Amélie vous offre son univers de musique, d’espoir et de simplicité.


Depuis ses premières minutes de gloire à se donner en spectacle sur la table de cuisine de ses grands-parents, Amélie Larocque chante. Déjà bête de scène à l’âge vénérable de quatre ans, elle n’écoute que son instinct, qui la mènera jusqu’au Cégep de Drummondville. Elle peut y parfaire son art et son instrument , sa voix. La petite Amélie devenue grande sera vite remarquée par ses professeurs qui la tirent des bancs d’école et l’engagent pour divers contrats d’interprète. Elle livre ses chansons avec une rare intensité qui la laisse grande gagnante du volet interprétation des Découvertes de la Chanson de Magog en 2006.

C’est aussi à Drummondville qu’elle rencontrera les membres de son groupe de blues Old Fashion Morphine, avec lequel elle enflammera les scènes des bars. Leur style vieillot et dansant séduit le jury du Festival international du blues de Tremblant, édition 2007, et le public en redemande. Le blues déchaîné d’Old Fashion Morphine permet à la chanteuse d’utiliser sa voix sans complexes et elle cimente son amour du groove et du rock. Amélie apprivoise peu à peu son talent d’auteure et se lance dans l’écriture de chansons parfois touchantes, parfois provocantes, mais toujours authentiques. Elle envoûte son public en bâtissant sur scène ses accompagnements vocaux, percussions ou mélodies.

Amélie s’inscrit dès lors comme une artiste accomplie et fréquente désormais les catégories auteur-compositeur-interprète des concours et festivals. Elle sera demi-finaliste au Festival international de la chanson de Granby en 2008, avant de remporter en 2009, dans le cadre de la ChantEauFête de Charlevoix, un prix qui lui donnera des ailes jusqu’au Festival Pully-Lavaux, en Suisse. Elle s’illustre de l’autre côté de l’Atlantique et son talent charme les critiques des médias locaux. Amélie lançait son premier album homonyme en septembre 2010.

Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
25 novembre - Abbotsford, QC, Église St-Paul, Spectacle bénéfice neige

Site Internet
www.amelielarocque.com

Discography
Amélie Larocque (2010)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2008