Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Andy Creeggan


Composer, keyboard player

Song – "Smileys B&C" - Now playing...

Bio
Andy Creeggan had it all but he wanted more. As a founding member of Barenaked Ladies, Creeggan saw the group rise from obscurity to top of the charts, but, it wasn't for him. "I wanted space for my music, my personality," he says. "I was always very interested in instrumental music and I wanted to take advantage of having been accepted at the Faculty of Music at McGill University in Montreal and really pursue theory and composition."


Along with his brother Jim Creeggan (Barenaked Ladies bass player), composer and keyboardist Andy was brought up in a musical household in which their mother taught piano and their father played by ear. The two brothers also perform and record as The Brothers Creeggan, releasing four albums thus far and touring in between Barenaked Ladies albums.

Andy recently released his third solo album, Andiwork III, an all-instrumental album full of funky grooves that's the perfect soundtrack for a martini party in a swanky bachelor pad. Just the right CD for DJs looking for breaks and anyone needing some background grooves for a late-night adventure. A new twist to lounge music.

"Lately I've been hanging around with sporty people," says Creeggan. "They like to party and play their funky music loud. I think I was influenced by this. At the same time I've been checking out a lot of electro music too, especially from Quebec, like DJ Champion and Ariane Moffatt, Misteur Valaire and the like... and I finally had all my instruments amassed in a space right behind my house."

Besides recording Andiwork III, Creeggan's been very busy over the past few years. He's composed a harp duet for Jennifer Swartz (Montreal Symphony Orchestra) and Lori Gemmell (Kitchener Waterloo Symphony); written the orchestrations for Barenaked Ladies appearances with symphony orchestras (Toronto Symphony, Boston Pops); produced Mike Evin's album I'll Bring the Stereo and three other albums, for Stéphane Morin, Isaac Neto, and Le Courage d'Aimer, a musical about the life of Quebec nun Dina Bélanger; has played percussion, keyboards, sung or arranged songs on various albums, including Barenaked Ladies' Snacktime, Mike Evin's Good Watermelon and Do You Feel the World, and Jake and the Leprechauns' A Long Dash; and composed music for the Quebec Ultimate Frisbee highlight DVD in 2008.

He's currently planning the next Brothers Creeggan album, as well as another solo outing. Creeggan recently moved to Moncton, NB, after a few years living in Sherbrooke, QC, where Andiwork III was recorded.

Performances/news this month
January 21 - Moncton, Cafe Aberdeen, w. Mike Evin

Website
www.brotherscreeggan.com/

Discography

Solo
Andiwork III (2010)
Andiwork II (2004)
Andiwork (1998)
w. Brothers Creeggan
Sleepyhead (2002)
Trunks (2000)
Brothers Creeggan II (1997)
Brothers Creeggan (1995)
w. Barenaked Ladies
Maybe You Should Drive (1994)
Gordon (1992)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 1992

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Andy Creeggan


Compositeur, claviériste

La chanson - « Smileys B&C » est en ondes...

Bio
Andy Creeggan avait tout mais voulait plus encore. Membre fondateur des Barenaked Ladies, Creeggan a vu le groupe atteindre le sommet des palmarès, mais ce n’était plus assez pour lui. « Je voulais de l’espace pour ma musique, ma personnalité, » dit-il. « J’ai toujours aimé la musique instrumentale et avec mon inscription comme étudiant à la Faculté de musique de l’Université McGill, je pouvais explorer la théorie et la composition. »

Avec son frère Jim Creeggan (bassiste des Barenaked Ladies), le compositeur et claviériste a été élevé dans une famille de musiciens : sa mère enseignait le piano et son père jouait par oreille. Les deux frères se sont produits et ont enregistré sous le nom de The Brothers Creeggan, lançant quatre albums à ce jour et se produisant entre les albums des Barenaked Ladies.

Andy a récemment lancé son troisième album solo, Andiwork III, entièrement instrumental et rempli de grooves funky, parfait pour un party de martinis dans un loft de célibataire ou pour les pauses entre deux prestations de DJ ou une aventure nocturne. Il donne un nouveau sens aux mots musique lounge.

« Je me tiens avec des sportifs dernièrement, » dit Andy. « Ce sont des gens de party et ils aiment jouer de la musique funky très fort. Ils m’ont influencé. Et je me suis initié à la musique électro québécoise, comme celle de DJ Champion, Ariane Moffatt, Misteur Valaire et les autres… En plus, tous mes instruments sont enfin rassemblés juste derrière chez moi. »


En plus d’enregistrer Andiwork III, Creeggan a été très occupé ces dernières années. Il a composé un duo de harpe pour Jennifer Swartz (de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal) et Lori Gemmell (de la Kitchener Waterloo Symphony), écrit des orchestrations pour les spectacles des Barenaked Ladies avec des orchestres symphoniques (de Toronto, Boston Pops), produit l’album de Mike Evin, I'll Bring the Stereo, et trois autres albums, pour Stéphane Morin, Isaac Neto, et Le Courage d'Aimer, une comédie musicale sur la vie d’une religieuse québécoise, Dina Bélanger. Il a joué des percussions, des claviers, a chanté ou arrangé des chansons sur divers autres albums, incluant ceux des Barenaked Ladies, Snacktime, de Mike Evin, Good Watermelon et Do You Feel the World, et de Jake and the Leprechauns, A Long Dash. Il a même composé de la musique pour le DVD Ultimate Frisbee québécois en 2008.

Il est à planifier le prochain album des Brothers Creeggan et son prochain album solo. Après quelques années à Sherbooke, où Andiwork III fut enregistré, il vient de déménager à Moncton, N.-B.

Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
21 janvier - Moncton, Café Aberdeen, avec Mike Evin

Site Internet
www.brotherscreeggan.com/

Discographie
Solo
Andiwork III (2010)
Andiwork II (2004)
Andiwork (1998)
avec The Brothers Creeggan
Sleepyhead (2002)
Trunks (2000)
Brothers Creeggan II (1997)
Brothers Creeggan (1995)
avec les Barenaked Ladies
Maybe You Should Drive (1994)
Gordon (1992)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1992