Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Aurélia O'Leary


Singer-songwriter

Song – "Dix ans dans la lune" - Now Playing ...

Bio
Born in the town of Gaspé, Québec, Aurélia O’Leary grew up in Provence, where she absrobed Southern France’s brilliant sun and melodious accent. A member of a succession of rock, French chanson and jazz groups, she won first place at Festival Crest Jazz Vocal, in Southeastern France, and ended up opening a concert by the legendary French crooner Henri Salvador. After being selected by FNAC, the giant French entertainment retail chain, for the Agitateurs de nouveaux talents series, she decided to pursue her music career from Paris.

Surrounded by well-known local musicians, O'Leary began performing in France and Europe with a repertoire of endlessly re-arranged jazz standards, finally recording, along with the magical pianist Pierre-Alain Goualch, an electro-jazz album that included Francophone jazz compositions. While in the recording studio, she met the pianist Yvan Cassar, who played on one of her selections, as well as other musicians with whom she has kept in touch to this day. In 2003, having decided to move back to Quebec, she participated as a singer-songwriter in the Festival en chanson de Petite-Vallée, right next door to her native village. That same year, she also performed at the Francofolies de la Rochelle festival in France.

A passionate voice teacher for many years, O'Leary has long been involved in musical theatre projects. She has written and directed 10 musicals for children and teenagers. Now feeling completely at home with her Montreal musicians, in a Quebec that remiains open to all influences, O'Leary performs a varied repertoire, including original compositions recorded with the guitarist Thomas Carbou. Most recently, she was a participant in the 2009 FrancoFolies de Montréal festival.

With Allume, a jazz/folk/French chanson/world music album, O’Leary presents a collection of warm and personal selections that complement the generous, energetic and contagious improvisations of her stage performances.

Performances/news this month
February 16 - Quebec City, La Ninkasi, Vitrine Tryskell for Rideau OFF
February - Montreal, Dièse Onze, Artist of the Month

Website
www.aureliaoleary.com
http://www.myspace.com/aureliaoleary

Discography
Allume (2009)
Dans une ville, endormie (2007)



SOCAN Connection
Member since 2009

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Aurélia O'Leary


Auteure-compositrice-interprète

La chanson - « J'allume » est en ondes...

Bio
Née à Gaspé, en Gaspésie, Aurélia O’Leary grandit à la lumière et à l'accent de la Provence, dans le sud de la France. Elle fera partie de plusieurs formations musicales rock, de chanson française puis de jazz. Elle gagne le concours du Festival Crest Jazz Vocal, assure la première partie du spectacle du légendaire Henri Salvador, est sélectionnée par la chaîne de magasins spécialisée dans la distribution de produits culturels FNAC, dans la série Agitateurs de nouveaux talents et décide de poursuivre ses expériences à Paris.

Aurélia y est alors entourée de musiciens bien connus Outre-Atlantique et elle se produit en France et en Europe avec un répertoire de standards toujours réarrangés. Après plusieurs aventures riches et intenses autour du jazz, elle enregistre un album électro-jazz avec le pianiste magique Pierre-Alain Goualch, comportant des compositions en français. Lors de l’enregistrement, elle croisera entres autres le pianiste Yvan Cassar, qui viendra jouer sur une de ses chansons, et d’autres musiciens de talent avec qui elle continue d’enrichir son parcours. C’est en 2003 qu’elle choisit de revenir au Québec. Elle participe cette année-là comme auteure-compositrice-interprète au Festival en chanson de Petite-Vallée, village voisin de celui où elle est née! La même année, elle se produit aux Francofolies de la Rochelle.

Passionnée de pédagogie, elle enseigne le chant depuis longtemps et participe à des projets mêlant théâtre et musique. Elle écrit et met en scène une dizaine de comédies musicales avec des enfants et adolescents. Aujourd’hui entourée de musiciens montréalais dans ce Québec si accueillant où l’on peut faire la paix avec diverses influences musicales, Aurélia présente divers répertoires, dont celui de ses compositions; enregistrées avec le guitariste Thomas Carbou. Elle participe notamment aux FrancoFolies de Montréal en 2009.

Avec son disque Allume, au carrefour du jazz, du folk, de la chanson française et des musiques du monde, Aurélia offre une musique aux accents très chauds et très personnels. Sur scène? C'est vraiment là qu'ça se passe! Une grande générosité, beaucoup d'improvisation et une énergie communicative...

Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
16 février - Ville de Québec, La Ninkasi, Vitrine Tryskell pour le Rideau OFF
18 février - Montréal, Dièse Onze, Artiste du Mois

Site Internet
www.aureliaoleary.com
http://www.myspace.com/aureliaoleary

Discographie
Allume (2009)



Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2009