Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Bernard Adamus


Singer-songwriter

Song – "Le fou de l'ïle" - Now playing...

Bio
The least one can say about Bernard Adamus, who came to Montreal at the age of three from Poland, is that he definitely embraced his adopted city. Montreal's working-class neighbourhoods of Hochelaga, Centre-Sud and Rosemont have provided him with the urban material and folk heroes so central to his songwriting. Strongly influenced by jazz, Adamus first performed covers of that brand of true-to-life music before starting to write his own original true-to-life lyrics in French.

After performing under the name of Le Révérend for awhile, Adamus went back to his real name with the 2009 release of Brun, a moving and entertaining debut album that presented him as the missing link between such beloved Quebec voices as Plume Latraverse, Lucien Francoeur (from the Aut’Chose period) and Gatineau’s Séba. Celebrated as an instant public and critical success for his songs’ poetic contents and country-blues moods, Adamus garnered six of the Festival en chanson de Petite-Vallée’s 10 awards in the summer of 2009 and, in October of the same year, received SOCAN’s emerging Francophone songwriter award, the Prix Écho de la chanson, for his song “La question à 100 piasses” ("The Hundred-Dollar Question").

Adamus has recently been nominated, for the second year in a row, for Quebec’s premier songwriting award, the Prix Félix-Leclerc de la chanson, whose winner is unveiled June 16, 2011, as part of the FrancoFolies de Montréal festival.


Performances/news this month
July 14-16 - Yellowknife, NWT, Folk on the Rocks Festival

Website
www.bernardadamus.com

Discography
Brun (2009)
Rue Ontario (extrait, 2009)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2009

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Bernard Adamus


Auteur-compositeur-interprète

La chanson – « Le fou de l'ïle » est en ondes...

Bio
Arrivé à Montréal de la Pologne à l’âge de trois ans, le moins qu’on puisse dire, c’est que Bernard Adamus s’est parfaitement intégré à sa ville d’adoption. En fait, il a fait de ses quartiers ouvriers (Hochelag’, Centre-Sud, Rosemont ) le centre de ses chansons, et de ses rues et habitants les héros d’une fable urbaine nouveau genre. Grandement influencé par le blues, il se produit d’abord en faisant des reprises de cette musique touchante et vraie, pour ensuite prendre ce touchant et ce vrai, et les inscrire dans ses propres textes, en français.

D’abord connu sous le nom du Révérend, Bernard Adamus se réapproprie son identité avec la sortie de son album Brun, au printemps 2009. Cet album touche autant qu’il divertit, et présente Bernard Adamus comme le chaînon manquant entre Plume, Lucien Francoeur période Aut’Chose et Séba de Gatineau. Sa poésie et ses accents country-blues séduisent immédiatement de nombreux fans. Salué par la critique, l’artiste se voit aussi récompensé par le Festival en chanson de Petite-Vallée, qui lui remet 6 de ses 10 prix à l’été 2009. En octobre de la même année, c’est au tour de la SOCAN de lui remettre le Prix Écho de la chanson, qui récompense la relève de la chanson francophone, pour sa pièce « La question à 100

piasses ».

Pour une deuxième année consécutive, Bernard Adamus est en nomination pour le prix Félix-Leclerc de la chanson, dont le grand gagnant sera dévoilé le 16 juin 2011, dans le cadre des FrancoFolies de Montréal.

Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
14-16 juillet - Yellowknife, TNO, Festival Folk on the Rocks

Site Internet
www.bernardadamus.com

Discographie
Brun (2009)
Rue Ontario (simple, 2009)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2009