Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Catherine MacLellan


Folk/roots singer-songwriter

Song – "Take a Break" - Now Playing ...

Bio
Matching pure and ethereal vocals with poetic lyrics and her uncompromising songwriting craft, there's no doubt as to why Catherine MacLellan has become one of the most celebrated new singer-songwriters in Canada, and around the world, by her contemporaries and media alike.

Voted "Critics Favourite New Discovery" by Penguin Eggs Magazine in 2008, MacLellan has quickly built up a loyal fan base and has been a hit with critics worldwide. Her last album Church Bell Blues hit No. 1 on the iTunes Canada Roots charts, received critical acclaim and comparisons to Joni Mitchell from international publications such as Q, Maverick, fRoots, the Austin Chronicle, and the Boston Globe. She toured with Bruce Cockburn in the U.S. and with Steve Forbert in the U.K., and showcased in Paris, Cannes, Berlin, New York, London, and Memphis.

Her latest album, Water in the Ground, is MacLellan's third release — a strong collection that testifies to her reputation as a prolific and gifted songwriter, and features some of the most prominent roots musicians in Canada, including Treasa Levasseur, Justin Rutledge and David Baxter.

As a child, MacLellan didn’t have to look far for inspiration. She's the daughter of Canadian music legend, singer-songwriter Gene MacLellan, the writer of such huge international '70s hits as "Snowbird" (Anne Murray) and "Put Your Hand In The Hand" (Ocean).

After high school and a year in Australia, MacLellan moved to Toronto, and began playing open mic nights in folk clubs. On relocating back to PEI, the passion gradually became a vocation. Through a band, The New Drifts, and then old-time country group Saddle River, MacLellan honed her skills as a performer. With the release of her debut album Dark Dream Midnight, she ventured into the Quebec and Ontario markets, to positive response.

The PEI-raised, now Halifax-based MacLellan has certainly been embraced by the Atlantic Canadian audience, as evidenced by two 2005 PEI Music Awards for Dark Dream Midnight and the four 2006 Awards for her second album, Church Bell Blues, as well as multiple East Coast Music Award (ECMA) nominations in 2006 and 2007. Most recently, MacLellan won four more PEI Music Awards in 2010, for folk recording, album (both for Water in the Ground), female vocalist and SOCAN songwriter of the year (for the song "Take a Break").

Website
www.catherinemaclellan.com
www.myspace.com/catherinemaclellan

Discography
Water in the Ground (2009)
Church Bell Blues (2007)
Dark Dream Midnight (2004)



SOCAN Connection
Member since 1998

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Catherine MacLellan


Auteure-compositrice-interprète folk/roots

La chanson - « Take a Break » est en ondes...

Bio
Avec sa voix pure et éthérée, ses textes poétiques et sa musique sans compromis, Catherine MacLellan s’est imposée comme l’une des meilleures nouvelles auteures-interprètes auprès des publics et critiques nationaux et internationaux.

Choisie « Découverte favorite des critiques » dans Penguin Eggs Magazine en 2008, Catherine MacLellan s’est rapidement bâti un public fidèle et attiré des critiques favorables dans le monde entier. Son album Church Bell Blues a atteint le sommet du palmarès iTunes Canada Roots et lui a attiré des comparaisons avec Joni Mitchell dans des publications internationales comme Q, Maverick, fRoots, le Austin Chronicle, et le Boston Globe. Elle a fait une tournée aux États-Unis avec Bruce Cockburn et une autre au Royaume-Uni avec Steve Forbert, en plus de se produire à Paris, Cannes, Berlin, New York, Londres et Memphis.

Son dernier album, Water in the Ground, est aussi le troisième en cinq ans, ce qui justifie sa réputation d’auteure-compositrice prolifique et douée. On y retrouve de grands musiciens roots canadiens comme Treasa Levasseur, Justin Rutledge et David Baxter.

Catherine MacLellan n’a pas eu à chercher bien loin l’inspiration lorsqu’elle était enfant, puisqu’elle est la fille du légendaire Gene MacLellan, auteur d’immenses succès internationaux des années 70 comme « Snowbird » (Anne Murray) et « Put Your Hand In The Hand » (Ocean).

Après son secondaire et une année passée en Australie, Catherine MacLellan s’installe à Toronto et débute sa carrière dans les clubs folk. À son retour dans sa province natale de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, la passion devient rapidement une vocation. Elle peaufine son talent avec le groupe The New Drifts, puis avec le groupe country Saddle River. Son premier album, lancé au Québec et en Ontario, Dark Dream Midnight, lui attire vite des critiques positives.

Catherine MacLellan vit maintenant à Halifax et elle est une des favorites du public des Maritimes, comme le démontrent ses deux prix au Gala 2005 de l’Association de la musique de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard (pour Dark Dream Midnight), suivis de quatre prix en 2006 pour Church Bell Blues, et de nombreuses nominations au Gala 2006 et 2007 de l’Association de la musique de la Côte Est. Plus récemment, elle remportait quatre prix au Gala 2010 de l’Association de la musique de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, catégories Album folk et Album (pour Water in the Ground), Interprète féminine et prix SOCAN Auteure-compositrice de l’année (pour « Take a Break »).

Site Internet
www.catherinemaclellan.com
www.myspace.com/catherinemaclellan

Discographie
Water in the Ground (2009)
Church Bell Blues (2007)
Dark Dream Midnight (2004)



Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1998