Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Christina Martin


Singer-songwriter

Song – "Take" - Now playing...

Bio
For nearly a decade Christina Martin has been on an extensive musical journey. From recording her debut album Pretty Things (2002) in Austin, Texas, to opening for Wilco, it's been clear that music is her path. It was not long after she returned home to Halifax, Nova Scotia that she started playing the café/bar circuit and met fellow musician Dale Murray (Cuff the Duke). On a whim they recorded Two Hearts (2008), an album that won her Pop Recording of the Year at the 2009 East Coast Music Awards, as well as two Nova Scotia Music Awards for Female Artist of the Year and Pop Recording of the Year in 2008.


Martin and Murray teamed up once again to produce I Can Too (2010), which features guest appearances by Blue Rodeo’s Greg Keelor and Cuff the Duke’s Wayne Petti. The album showcases the singer and songwriter in her finest form. “I Fear I Am,” conjures up classic rock jangles and the rhythmic sway of Roy Orbison. “Daisy,” draws on Tom Petty’s nostalgic, narrative-driven approach, while Murray’s lap steel on “Hello” echoes the melodic slide guitar work of George Harrison. The title track, “I Can Too,” opens with Martin almost whispering her confessions, while Murray’s instrumentation slowly builds layers around her soaring vocals. Like the song, the album is bold, rhythmic, vulnerable and inspirational.

Martin can hold her own onstage, too: whether playing in a living room, a train car or a stadium, she connects deeply with her audience. With a voice that elicits Sheryl Crow and Lucinda Williams comparisons, Martin has performed with Matt Mays, Cuff the Duke and Jimmy Rankin. Whether she’s softly serenading with an acoustic number; or perfecting her rock 'n' roll swagger, Martin is at home in the spotlight.

Since the release of Two Hearts (2008), she has toured extensively throughout Canada and the U.S., as well as crossing the Atlantic to tour in Ireland. Her songs have made their way into films, including Sex Traffic (2004) and The Best Years (2009). She can also be heard as a member of the Halifax alt-country group The Prospectors Union.



Performances/news this month
May 21 - Halifax, Seahorse Tavern
May 28 - Hunter River, PEI, Harmony House Theatre (acoustic show)
June 3 - Hampton, NB, Vintage Bistro & Lounge (acoustic show)
June 4 - Berwick, NS, Union Street Café
June 9 - Pugwash, NS, Chatterbox Café
June 10 - Yarmouth, NS - Minor Music Conference, Th'Yarc
June 11 - Margaretsville, NS, Evergreen Theatre (acoustic show)


Website
www.christinamartin.net

Discography
I Can Too (2010)
Two Hearts (2008)
Pretty Things (2002)


SOCAN Connection
Member since 2007

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Christina Martin


Auteure-compositrice-interprète

La chanson – «Take» est en ondes...

Bio
Christina Martin est embarquée dans un voyage musical depuis dix ans : depuis son premier album Pretty Things (2002) lancé à Austin, Texas, à ses premières parties pour Wilco, la musique est son destin. Peu de temps après son retour dans sa ville natale de Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse, elle commence à se produire dans les cafés et bars et rencontre le musicien Dale Murray (Cuff the Duke). Ils enregistrent Two Hearts (2008), un album qui remporte le prix de l’Enregistrement pop de l’année au gala de la musique de la Côte Est en 2009, de même que deux prix au gala de la musique de Nouvelle-Écosse 2008, catégories Artiste féminine et Enregistrement pop de l’année.

Christina Martin et Dale Murray produisent aussi I Can Too (2010), mettant également en vedette Greg Keelor de Blue Rodeo et Wayne Petti de Cuff the Duke à titre de chanteurs invités. On retrouve Christina Martin au sommet de sa forme. « I Fear I Am » est une chanson rock classique rappelant les rythmes de Roy Orbison. « Daisy » rappelle plus l’approche narrative et nostalgique de Tom Petty, alors que le travail de Dale Murray sur « Hello » fait penser à celui de George Harrison à la slide guitare. La chanson-titre, « I Can Too », débute par les confessions murmurées de Christina Martin, tandis que l’instrumentation de Dale Murray ajoute lentement des couches sonores à sa voix. Tout comme cette chanson, l’album est fort, rythmé, vulnérable et inspirant.

Christina Martin peut se produire en spectacle dans un salon, un train ou un stade, partout elle tient son auditoire en haleine. Avec une voix qui rappelle celles de Sheryl Crow et Lucinda Williams, elle a donné des concerts avec Matt Mays, Cuff the Duke et Jimmy Rankin. Elle est autant à l’aise dans des numéros acoustiques que sur des rocks énergiques.

Depuis le lancement de Two Hearts (2008), Christina Martin a fait de longues tournées au Canada et aux Etats-Unis, de même qu’en Irlande. Ses chansons ont été reprises dans des films comme Sex Traffic (2004) et The Best Years (2009). Elle fait aussi partie du groupe alt-country The Prospectors Union.



Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
21 mai - Halifax, Seahorse Tavern
28 mai - Hunter River, Î.-P-É., Harmony House Theatre (spectacle acoustique)
3 juin - Hampton, N.-B., Vintage Bistro & Lounge (spectacle acoustique)
4 juin - Berwick, N.-É., Union Street Café
9 juin - Pugwash, N.-É., Chatterbox Café
10 juin - Yarmouth, N.-É. - Minor Music Conference, Th'Yarc
11 juin - Margaretsville, N.-É., Evergreen Theatre (spectacle acoustique)


Site Internet
www.christinamartin.net

Discographie

I Can Too (2010)
Two Hearts (2008)
Pretty Things (2002)


Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2007