Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Crystal Plamondon


Country/roots singer-songwriter

Song – "Like a Hurricane" - Now playing...

Bio
Crystal Plamondon hails from Plamondon, a village in Northern Alberta founded by her Franco-American great grandfather in 1908. Crystal is a bilingual singer, songwriter, and performer with a 20-year track record of consistently passionate concerts that cover a wide emotional range, from heartwarming ballads to rockin’ country, roots and Cajun. Whether performing with her five-piece band, an acoustic ensemble, or covering classic jazz and pop in her new TORCH act, Plamondon always connects with her audience.

She tours extensively, playing intimate venues, theatres, and festivals throughout North America and Europe. She's performed in Ottawa on Parliament Hill for Canada Day celebrations, and in Calgary at the Olympic Torch Relay ceremonies.

Plamondon 's second album, Carpe Diem!, yielded two No. 1 hits in France in 1993 – "Capitaine," followed quickly by "On va faire le rigodon." Her fourth album, Plus de frontières /No Borders, was nominated for a Western Canadian Music Award for Outstanding Francophone Recording in 2003. Plamondon has received the Alberta Recording Industry Association Performer of the Year Award. In 2004 she was awarded Prix Sylvie Van Brabant for Excellence in Artistic Creation in Alberta. In 2009 she was further honored with the Prix CHFA de la chanson albertaine.

In 1997-1998, Plamondon hosted a Francophone country music program called CountryMax, on Musimax, a sister station to Much Music and Musique Plus in Montréal. In addition to hosting numerous television, radio and live events, her acting career includes performances in TV productions, movies, and live theatre. In 2005, Plamondon gave the lead performance in the musical Cow-Boy Poétré, a production of L'UniThéâtre / The National Arts Centre that toured the Maritimes and Alberta after its run in Ottawa. Her television special, Passeport Musique, filmed in Benin, West Africa, for Radio Canada in 1998, also aired on the Bravo network. She has appeared in a documentary titled Alberta Bound, which aired on CBC Television as part of her province's centennial celebration. In 2010, she journeyed to Louisiana for mardi gras, to take part in the filming of a documentary titled Au coeur du country, about the relationship between Cajun and country music. Two of Plamondon's original songs, “Forever More” and “Only Dreaming,” have been featured on the hit CBC-TV series Heartland.


Performances/news this month
Sept. 17 - Edmonton, Full Moon Club @ St. Basil's Cultural Centre
Sept. 18 - St. Albert, Alberta, LB's Pub
Sept. 19 - Stony Plain, Alberta, Early Stage Saloon

Website
www.crystalplamondon.com

Discography
TORCH! (2010)
On a Song and a Prayer / Une Chanson, une prière (2009)
Plus de frontières / No Borders (2002)
La Rousse farouche / Wild Red (1996)
Carpe Diem! (1993)
Bon temps tout la nuit / Good Times All Night Long (cassette, 1991)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 1989

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Crystal Plamondon


Auteure-compositrice-interprète country/roots

La chanson - « Like a Hurricane » est en ondes...

Bio
Crystal Plamondon est née à Plamondon, un village de l’Alberta fondé par son arrière-grand-père franco-américain en 1908. Crystal est une auteure-compositrice-interprète bilingue de 20 ans de carrière, qui offre depuis ses débuts des concerts passionnés comprenant autant des ballades que de la musique country, roots et cajun. Que ce soit avec son ensemble de cinq musiciens ou un ensemble acoustique, ou encore comme interprète de jazz classique dans son nouveau spectacle TORCH, elle rejoint toujours son auditoire.


Ses nombreuses tournées la mènent autant dans des salles intimes que dans des théâtres et festivals en Amérique du Nord et en Europe. Elle s’est produite sur la Colline du Parlement à Ottawa durant la Fête du Canada ainsi qu’à Calgary durant une cérémonie de relais de la torche olympique.

Son second album, Carpe Diem!, lui a valu deux No 1 au palmarès en France en 1993 –
« Capitaine », qui fut rapidement suivie de « On va faire le rigodon ». Son quatrième album, Plus de frontières /No Borders, fut mis en nomination pour le prix d’Album francophone de l’année lors du Gala de la musique de l’Ouest canadien en 2003. Elle est récipiendaire du prix de l’Artiste de l’année de l’Association de l’industrie du disque albertain. En 2004, elle recevait le Prix Sylvie Van Brabant pour l’Excellence en création artistique en Alberta. En 2009, le Prix CHFA de la chanson albertaine lui était décerné.

En 1997-1998, Crystal Plamondon animait une émission de musique country francophone, CountryMax, sur Musimax. En plus d’animer de nombreuses émissions de télévision, radio et des événements, elle connaît une carrière de comédienne dans des émissions de télévision et films et au théâtre. En 2005, Crystal Plamondon tenait le rôle principal de la comédie musicale Cow-Boy Poétré, une production de L'UniThéâtre et du Centre national des Arts qui a fait une tournée des Maritimes et de l’Alberta après des représentations à Ottawa. Son émission spéciale de télévision, Passeport Musique, filmée en 1998 au Bénin, en Afrique, pour Radio-Canada, a aussi été diffusée sur le réseau Bravo. Elle est apparue dans le documentaire Alberta Bound, diffusé sur le réseau anglais de Radio-Canada lors du centenaire de l’Alberta. En 2010, elle se rendait en Louisiane durant le mardi gras, pour participer au tournage d’un documentaire intitulé Au cœur du country, sur les rapports entre la musique country et cajun. Deux des chansons de Crystal, « Forever More » et « Only
Dreaming », ont été incluses dans la trame sonore de la série à succès Heartland, sur le réseau anglais de Radio-Canada.

Site Internet
www.crystalplamondon.com

Discographie
TORCH! (2010)
On a Song and a Prayer / Une Chanson, une prière (2009)
Plus de frontières / No Borders (2002)
La Rousse farouche / Wild Red (1996)
Carpe Diem! (1993)
Bon temps tout la nuit / Good Times All Night Long (cassette, 1991)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1989