Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Dan Mangan


Singer-songwriter


Song – "Oh Fortune"
- Now playing...
(Co-written with Gord Grdina, Kenton Loewen and John Walsh)

Bio
Once a mere fresh-faced folksinger from Vancouver, Dan Mangan now stands at the world’s doorstep. The evolution of his music is instinctively in line with its breadth and sincerity. As his art has developed, so has the story behind its constant and exponential proliferation.

The proof is in the countless European jaunts. U.S. tours with The Walkmen, The Decemberists and Okkervil River. Two performances at England's huge Glastonbury Festival. Multiple trips to Australia. National Public Radio features in the U.S., endless critical acclaim, sold-out theatres across Canada. The 2010 Polaris Music Prize short list nomination for his sophomore album Nice, Nice Very Nice capped a stellar year in which Mangan won iTunes Album of the Year in the singer-songwriter category, a trio of CBC awards and was named XM The Verge Artist of the Year – a high profile honour with a $25,000 cash prize. In February 2012, he was nominated for no less than four Juno Awards.

Mangan and his band experienced life-changing door openings, new challenges and wonderful opportunities across the globe. Indeed, Dan’s musical passport now bears stamps from places – figurative and literal – many artists will never visit.

His current album, Oh Fortune, is a far more ambitious offering than its predecessor. A rich, textured, indie/folk statement that explores the genre’s boundaries with great influence from his band, Gord Grdina (guitar), Kenton Loewen (drums) and John Walsh (bass). There was also a call to Seattle’s Eyvind Kang (Bill Frisell, Beck, Marc Ribot) who helped write the lush arrangements on Oh Fortune. “And yet with all of this amazing musical influence," says Mangan, "I feel like lyrically and song-wise it’s more me than anything I’ve ever done.”

Oh Fortune still shines with those key Mangan components – the gravelly voice, that basic human element – but this time, it comes with a more mature perspective on creative intuition that can only come from years of experience. Written on the road, where Mangan has lived for the majority of the last three years, the songs tackle themes of societal manipulation, soldier shell-shock and urban sprawl with tracks like “How Darwinian,” “Rows Of Houses” and “Post War Blues.” It could be taken as a sad or dark album, yet musically it kicks with more ferocity and tenacity than people expected from Mangan. It debates melancholy while it anticipates incredible moments of glory and victory. It’s not sad, it’s simply honest.


It's an abum infused with Mangan's wit and personality, yet completely distinguished from everything prior. Oh Fortune marks the arrival of a new voice, with world-class charm and a universal appeal.

Performances/news this month
Australian tour

Feb 22 - Melbourne, Northcote Social Club
Feb 24 - Sydney, Notes
Feb 25 - Byron Bay, The Norther
Feb 26 - Brisbane, Black Bear Lounge
Feb 28 - Adelaide, The Grace Emily
Feb 29 - Perth, The Fly Trap

Website
www.danmanganmusic.com
www.myspace.com/danmangan

Discography
Oh Fortune (2011)
Nice, Nice, Very Nice (2009)
Roboteering (EP, 2009)
Postcards And Daydreaming (2007)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2004

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Dan Mangan


Auteur-compositeur

La chanson – « Oh Fortune » est en ondes...
(Co-écrite avec Gord Grdina, Kenton Loewen et John Walsh)

Bio

Dan Mangan, qui a fait ses débuts de chanteur folk à Vancouver, est maintenant au seuil d’une carrière internationale. L’évolution de sa musique est en ligne avec son ampleur et sa sincérité. À mesure que son art s’enrichit, son histoire personnelle prend aussi de l’expansion.

La preuve en est ses nombreuses tournées en Europe et aux États-Unis avec The Walkmen, The Decemberists et Okkervil River, ses deux spectacles au grand festival britannique de Glastonbury, ses tournées en Australie, ses exécutions à la radio américaine et ses spectacles au Canada, le tout salué par les critiques. Son album Nice, Nice Very Nice a été mis en nomination aux prix Polaris 2010; durant la même année, il remportait le prix iTunes de l’Album de l’année dans la catégorie Auteur-compositeur-interprète, trois prix de la CBC et le trophée de l’Artiste de l’année XM The Verge, accompagné d’une bourse de 25 000 $. En février 2012, il était mis en nomination pour quatre prix Juno.

Mangan et son groupe ont donc eu des expériences professionnelles partout dans le monde et son passeport musical porte de nombreux cachets d’endroits – au littéral et au figuratif – que plusieurs artistes ne visiteront jamais.

Son album récent, Oh Fortune, est encore plus ambitieux que son précédent. Riche, texturé, son style indie/folk repousse les limites du style, à l’aide de ses musiciens ord Grdina (guitare), Kenton Loewen (percussions) et John Walsh (basse). Eyvind Kang (Bill Frisell, Beck, Marc Ribot) a également apporté sa contribution pour les arrangements. « Malgré toutes ces influences, j’estime que cet album me représente mieux que tout ce que j’ai fait à ce jour, » dit Dan Mangan.

Oh Fortune possède les ingrédients clés du style de Dan Mangan – sa voix rocailleuse, l’élément humain, mais cette fois, son intuition créative intègre de la maturité que l’on ne peut acquérir qu’avec des années d’expérience. Écrit sur la route, où Mangan a vécu ces trois dernières années, les chansons parlent de manipulation sociale, de choc post-traumatique et d’étalement urbain dans des œuvres comme « How Darwinian », « Rows Of Houses » et « Post War Blues ». On pourrait le considérer comme un album triste et noir, mais la musique est féroce et tenace. L’album anticipe des moments de gloire et de victoire, il n’est pas triste, tout simplement honnête.

Ce récent opus est empreint de sa personnalité et de son humour, tout en étant très différent de tout ce qu’il a fait auparavant. Oh Fortune annonce l’arrivée d’une nouvelle voix, au charme sophistiqué et universel.


Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
Tournée australienne

22 février - Melbourne, Northcote Social Club
24 février - Sydney, Notes
25 février - Byron Bay, The Norther
26 février - Brisbane, Black Bear Lounge
28 février - Adelaide, The Grace Emily
29 février - Perth, The Fly Trap

Site Internet
www.danmanganmusic.com
www.myspace.com/danmangan

Discographie
Oh Fortune (2011)
Nice, Nice, Very Nice (2009)
Roboteering (EP, 2009)
Postcards And Daydreaming (2007)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2004