Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


David Celia


Singer-songwriter, guitarist

Song – "Sergio" - Now playing...

Bio
Young veteran musician David Celia is one of Toronto’s most experienced independent artists and busiest working musicians, who’s consistently built an audience across Canada and is even more successful in Europe, where he's regularly toured for the past five years. Celia is a triple threat: He’s an enchanting singer-songwriter; an in-demand guitar virtuoso (who’s played behind such high-profile acts as Ian & Sylvia, Andy Kim and Quartette); and a brilliant arranger of songs.

Nowhere are these multiple talents more evident than on his new, third album, I Tried, which builds on the successes of his two previous releases. I Tried is a thoughtful, funny, sensitive collection of bright, sharp original songs that owes as much to Beatlesque pop as it does to contemporary singer-songwriter traditions. I Tried is also an eclectic and wide-ranging set of songs, encompassing (and mastering) all manner of sound, from sunny-day pop to straight-ahead rock 'n' roll to a ukelele ditty; from Eastern-mystic sitars to acoustic balladry to a country & western novelty.

Celia simply does whatever works best for each song.Celia released I Tried with a concert at Toronto’s Hugh’s Room on June 10. He's touring the U.K. for a 12th time in June – including an appearance at the prestigious Glastonbury Festival and a Canada Day celebratory concert in London’s Trafalgar Square (alongside Sarah Harmer, Hawksley Workman and more) – and tours Germany in August. A cross-Canada tour is set for October 2010, and the release of a new music video will be timed to coincide with it.


Performances/news this month
U.K. Tour

June 17 - Oswestry, The Ironworks
June 18 - Norwich, The Cider Shed
June 19 - Charlbury, Oxfordshire, London, Riverside Festival (4 p.m.)
June 19 - Cropredy, London, Brasenose Arms (8 p.m.)
June 20 - Stourbridge, Katie Fitzgerald's
June 21 - Bath, The Bell
June 22 - London, Bar Club
June 23 - Swindon, The Beehive
June 24 - Southampton, Town Quay, The Platform Tavern
June 27 - Glastonbury, Glastonbury Festival
June 28 - Bristol, The Prom
June 30 - Ratlinghope, Shrewsbury, The Horseshoe Inn
July 1 - London, Trafalgar Square, Canada Day Free Concert (12:30 p.m.)
July 1 - Sussex, The Snowdrop (9 p.m.)

Website
www.david celia.com


Discography
I Tried (2010)
This Isn't Here (2006)
Organica (2003)


SOCAN Connection
Member since 1993

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


David Celia


Auteur-compositeur-interprète, guitariste

La chanson - « Sergio » est en ondes...

Bio
Le jeune vétéran David Celia est l’un des artistes indépendants de Toronto qui possède le plus d’expérience et qui est le plus occupé. Son auditoire canadien et européen croît sans cesse, et il a fait des tournées à succès en Europe au cours des cinq dernières années. Cet excellent auteur-compositeur-interprète, guitariste virtuose (qui a participé aux spectacles de vedettes comme Ian & Sylvia, Andy Kim et Quartette) est également un brillant arrangeur.


Son 3
e album, I Tried, met en lumière ces multiples talents. Son récent opus, qui arrive auréolé du succès de ses deux premiers, est une collection de chansons originales, réfléchies, drôles et sensibles. Elles doivent autant à la pop des Beatles qu’aux courants plus contemporains. On trouve dans I Tried des musiques très variées, de la pop ensoleillée au rock 'n' roll, en passant par le ukulélé, les sitars indiens, la ballade acoustique et les rythmes de country et western. David Celia dessert au mieux ses paroles en les enrobant de la musique qui leur convient.


Le lancement de I Tried fut accompagné le 10 juin dernier d’un spectacle au Hugh’s Room de Toronto. David Celia est en tournée au Royaume-Uni pour la 12e fois en juin, incluant une présence au prestigieux Glastonbury Festival et un concert pour la Fête du Canada au Trafalgar Square de Londres, avec Sarah Harmer, Hawksley Workman et d’autres artistes. Il fera une tournée en Allemagne en août et une autre au Canada en octobre. Une nouvelle vidéo sera lancée cet automne pour coïncider avec cette dernière.


Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
Tournée au R.-U.
17 juin - Oswestry, The Ironworks
18 juin - Norwich, The Cider Shed
19 juin - Charlbury, Oxfordshire, London, Riverside Festival (16h)
19 juin - Cropredy, London, Brasenose Arms (20h
20 juin - Stourbridge, Katie Fitzgerald's
21 juin - Bath, The Bell
22 juin - Londres, Bar Club
23 juin - Swindon, The Beehive
24 juin - Southampton, Town Quay, The Platform Tavern
27 juin - Glastonbury, Glastonbury Festival
28 juin - Bristol, The Prom
30 juin - Ratlinghope, Shrewsbury, The Horseshoe Inn
1er juillet - London, Trafalgar Square, Concert gratuit de la Fête du Canada (12h30.)
1er juillet - Sussex, The Snowdrop (21h.)


Site Internet
www.david celia.com


Discographie
I Tried (2010)
This Isn't Here (2006)
Organica (2003)


Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1993