Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Dominic Gobeil


Jazz composer, guitarist

Song – "Sharp's Blues" - Now playing...

Bio
Dominic Gobeil started learning to play the piano at the age of six. After a few years’ hiatus, he resumed his music training in earnest as a young teenager, learning the guitar, completing a DEC (Diploma of College Studies) in Music at Collège d’Alma, in central Quebec, and earning a B.A. in Jazz and Popular Music and a M.A. in Music from Laval University, as well as a Master’s Degree in Jazz Performance from McGill University.

Attracted to jazz music and composition, this constantly evolving artist recorded his first album in 2004 with the jazz singer Mireille Boily, a project that was followed in 2007 with a second collaboration, an album of original music, Introspection. In October 2010, after two years of intensive music writing and research, Gobeil released his first album as a bandleader, DG4 - Dominic Gobeil Quartet, to critical acclaim. More recently, Gobeil was featured as a performer on a Joel Kerr Quintet recording released in January 2011 in Montreal.

Gobeil can be heard regularly on Quebec’s varied jazz scene. Following an extensive tour that took them to Montreal, Laval, Quebec City, Saguenay, Trois-Rivières and Sherbrooke, the Dominic Gobeil Quartet is gearing up for a series of fall concerts and poised to release a new album in 2012.


Website
www.wix.com/dgobeil3/dominic-gobeil
https://www.facebook.com/pages/DG4-Dominic-Gobeil-Quartet/124657894274435?sk=app_178091127385

Discography
Joel Kerr Quintet (2011)
DG4 - Dominic Gobeil Quartet (2010)
Introspection (avec Mireille Boily, 2007)
Mireille Boily Jazz Ensemble (2004)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2007

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Dominic Gobeil


Compositeur, guitariste jazz

La chanson – « Sharp's Blues » est en ondes...

Bio
Dominic Gobeil apprend les rudiments du piano à l’âge de six ans. Après une pause de quelques années dans son apprentissage de la musique, il se met sérieusement à la guitare en début d’adolescence. Après avoir complété un DEC en musique au Collège d’Alma, il poursuivra des études en jazz à l’université Laval et McGill, où il obtiendra un baccalauréat et une maîtrise en performance jazz.

Attiré par la musique jazz et la composition, son travail est en constante évolution. En 2004, il enregistre son premier disque aux côtés de la vocaliste jazz Mireille Boily, projet qui donnera lieu à une deuxième collaboration en 2007 avec l’album Introspection, entièrement composé de musique originale. C’est en octobre 2010, après deux années de travail personnel en composition et en recherche, que Dominic Gobeil lance son premier album en tant que leader. L’album DG4 - Dominic Gobeil Quartet reçoit des commentaires élogieux des critiques de jazz. Plus récemment, Dominic Gobeil apparaît sur le disque du Joel Kerr Quintet, lancé en janvier dernier à Montréal.

On peut entendre régulièrement Dominic Gobeil sur les différentes scènes jazz du Québec. Après une tournée à Montréal, Laval, Québec, Saguenay, Trois-Rivières et Sherbrooke, DG4 prépare un automne 2011 rempli de spectacles et un nouveau disque pour 2012! À surveiller!


Site Internet
www.wix.com/dgobeil3/dominic-gobeil
https://www.facebook.com/pages/DG4-Dominic-Gobeil-Quartet/124657894274435?sk=app_178091127385


Discographie

Joel Kerr Quintet (2011)
DG4 - Dominic Gobeil Quartet (2010)
Introspection (avec Mireille Boily, 2007)
Mireille Boily Jazz Ensemble (2004)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2007