Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Don Amero


Singer-songwriter

Song – "Right Where I Wanna Be"
- (co-written with Jay Tooke) - Now playing...


Bio
On September 15, 2007, Don Amero walked off his job as a hardwood flooring installer and set out to pursue music full-time. In the past five years, he has released three albums that have generated two national awards and twelve nominations. He's toured the country from coast to coast, been invited to play festivals, asked to perform with symphony accompaniment, and appeared on national television concerts.

From the notoriously tough North End of Winnipeg, Amero faced his share of adversity growing up, with poverty, gangs, drugs and violence all around. Fortunately, his life was tempered by love, support, and faith in a Higher Power. Shaped and molded by his experiences, Amero’s music now carries both the depth of hardship and luminosity of hope. His message is one of encouragement and beauty, despite the harshness of the world.

Amero ’s desire to take a serious shot at music was ignited with the unexpected success of his debut album – fittingly called Change Your Life. Released in 2006, it garnered the No. 1 spot on the National Aboriginal Countdown and received seven nominations for the Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards (APCMAs). In 2009, Amero released his second album Deepening, which saw two more singles climb to No. 1 on the same chart, and earned him Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year at the Canadian Folk Music Awards, Male Artist of the Year at the Canadian Aboriginal Music Awards, and two more nominations at the APCMAs.

His third album, The Long Way Home, was released in 2010. It received great reviews from the media, and generated lots of excitement among fans. The country-flavoured first single "Right Where I Wanna Be" has been featured on radio stations across Canada, climbing the charts. This year, he's once again nominated – in four categories – at the APCMAs, held Nov. 3, 2011. The nominations are for Aboriginal Entertainer of the Year, Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year, Best Country CD, and Best Music Video. He's also up for Aboriginal Recording of the Year at the Western Canadian Music Awards, and received two nods at the Native American Music Awards – for Best Folk Recording, and Debut Artist of the Year.


Website
www.donamero.com
www.myspace.com/donamero

Discography

The Long Way Home (2010)
Deepening (2009)
Change for Life (2006)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2006

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Don Amero


Auteur-compositeur-interprète

La chanson – « Right Where I Wanna Be » (co-écrite avec Jay Tooke) est en ondes...

 

Bio

Le 15 septembre 2007, Don Amero quittait son travail de poseur de planchers de bois franc pour se consacrer entièrement à sa carrière musicale. Au cours des cinq dernières années, Don Amero a lancé trois disques qui ont remporté deux prix nationaux et douze nominations; de plus, il a fait des tournées de spectacles d’un bout à l’autre du pays, s’est produit dans nombre de festivals, a donné des concerts accompagné d’orchestres symphoniques et participé à des concerts télévisés dans tout le pays.

Ayant grandi au milieu des gangs de rue, de la drogue et de la violence dans la partie nord de Winnipeg, un quartier notoirement défavorisé, Don Amero a connu son lot d’adversité et de pauvreté. Heureusement, amour, soutien et foi en une Puissance supérieure ont su adoucir son existence. Fruit de ces expériences, la musique de Don Amero reflète tant la profondeur de la détresse que la luminosité de l’espoir. Son message est porteur d’encouragement et de beauté en dépit de la rudesse du monde.

L’envie d’entreprendre sérieusement une carrière musicale a surgi en Don Amero à la suite du succès inespéré de son premier album, intitulé opportunément Change Your Life. Lancé en 2006, cet album se classa no 1 au palmarès autochtone (National Aboriginal Countdown) et reçut sept nominations aux Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards (APCMA). En 2009, Don Amero produisait Deepening, son deuxième album, dont deux titres ont grimpé en première place du même palmarès, en plus de lui valoir le prix d’Auteur-compositeur autochtone de l’année aux Prix de musique folk canadienne, d’Artiste masculin de l’année aux Canadian Aboriginal Music Awards, ainsi que deux autres nominations aux APCMA.

Son troisième album, The Long Way Home, est arrivé sur le marché en 2010. Accueilli avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme par les médias, il a également été acclamé par les inconditionnels de l’artiste. « Right Where I Wanna Be », la première chanson de cet album à saveur country, s’est vite taillé une position enviable aux palmarès des diverses radios canadiennes. Cette année, aux APCMA qui auront lieu de 3 novembre prochain, Don Amero sera une fois de plus en nomination dans quatre catégories : Artiste autochtone de l’année, Auteur-compositeur autochtone de l’année, Meilleur CD country et Meilleure vidéo musicale. Il est également en lice pour le prix Enregistrement autochtone de l’année aux Western Canadian Music Awards, en plus d’avoir reçu deux mentions (Best Folk Recording, et Debut Artist of the Year) aux Native American Music Awards.


Site Internet
www.donamero.com
www.myspace.com/donamero

Discographie

The Long Way Home (2010)
Deepening (2009)
Change for Life (2006)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2006