Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Don Breithaupt


Film + TV composer, songwriter, keyboard player, bandleader of Monkey House

Song – "Checkpoint Charlie"
- Now playing...

Bio
Don Briethaupt is perhaps best known for composing the music for the animated series 6teen
with Anthony Vanderburgh. In 2009, the duo won a Daytime Emmy Award for Outstanding Original Song for their theme to this series. Since 2007, they've won three SOCAN Awards, two for Domestic Animated Television Series music and one for International Television Series music. They're currently working on the animated series Sidekick, which airs on YTV. Breithaupt has also composed original themes and/or scores for HGTV’s Home to Keep, Fresh TV’s Really Me!, CBC’s Disability Network and TVO’s Benjamin’s Farm.

Breithaupt also composes songs with his brother Jeff, which are featured in their revue, The Breithaupt Brothers Songbook, which has regular performances in New York. He's the current keyboard player for the Kim Mitchell Band, and he tours with Rik Emmett and Sass Jordan. In addition, Breithaupt leads his own group Monkey House, who have released two well-received albums with strong airplay, and have just finished recording a new one, Headquarters, to be released in early 2012. The band makes melodic pop with a sophisticated, jazzy twist, clearly influenced by Steely Dan.

In fact Breithaupt is the author of Steely Dan’s Aja, Vol. 46 of Continuum Publishing’s 33-1/3 series of books about albums. His previous books include Precious and Few: Pop Music in the Early '70s and Night Moves: Pop Music in the Late '70s. He received his musical education at Berklee College of Music in Boston, and his literary education at Queen's University in Kingston. He has written extensively on music and film, most often for The National Post.

As a songwriter, Breithaupt has had his work covered by such artists as Alfie Zappacosta, Marc Jordan, Dione Taylor, Sarah Slean, Denzal Sinclaire, Patricia O'Callaghan, and Chris Smith, and he's currently co-writing new material with Rik Emmett, Kim Mitchell and Wendy Lands.

Website
www.monkeyhouse.com

Selected Discography
Headquarters (w. Monkey House, 2012)
Songs from the North Pole (2006)
Breathing Space (2006)
Big Money: Singles Remasters Rarities 1992-2005 (compilation, w. Monkey House, 2005)
True Winter (w. Monkey House, 1998)
Welcome to the Club (w. Monkey House, 1992)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 1982

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Don Breithaupt


Compositeur de musique audiovisuelle, auteur-compositeur, claviériste et leader du groupe Monkey House

La chanson – « Checkpoint Charlie » est en ondes...

Bio

Don Briethaupt est surtout connu pour ses musiques, écrites en collaboration avec Anthony Vanderburgh, pour la série animée 6teen. Le duo a remporté en 2009 un prix Emmy pour la chanson thème de cette série. Depuis 2007, ils ont remporté trois prix de la SOCAN, deux dans la catégorie musique pour séries animées (télévision nationale) et une pour séries (télévision internationale). Ils travaillent actuellement sur la série animée Sidekick, diffusée sur YTV. Breithaupt a aussi composé des thèmes ou musiques originales pour Home to Keep, diffusée sur HGTV, Really Me!, sur Fresh TV, Disability Network, de la CBC et Benjamin’s Farm, diffusée sur TVO.

Don Briethaupt compose aussi des chansons avec son frère Jeff, que l’on peut entendre dans leur spectacle The Breithaupt Brothers Songbook, produit régulièrement à New York. Il est l’actuel claviériste du Kim Mitchell Band, et fait des tournées avec Rik Emmett et Sass Jordan. Il est également leader de son groupe Monkey House, qui a lancé deux albums très bien reçus. Il vient d’ailleurs d’en enregistrer un nouveau, Headquarters, qui sera lancé début 2012. Le groupe produit une musique pop sophistiquée, aux accents jazz, qui évoque Steely Dan.

Briethaupt est en fait l’auteur de Steely Dan’s Aja, Vol. 46 de la série de livres 33-1/3 éditée par Continuum Publishing. Il a aussi écrit Precious and Few: Pop Music in the Early '70s et Night Moves: Pop Music in the Late '70s. Il a fait des études en musique au Collège Berklee de Boston ainsi que des études littéraires à l’Université Queen's de Kingston. Il a aussi souvent écrit sur la musique et le cinéma, surtout pour le National Post.

À titre d’auteur-compositeur, Breithaupt a été interprété par les Alfie Zappacosta, Marc Jordan, Dione Taylor, Sarah Slean, Denzal Sinclaire, Patricia O'Callaghan et Chris Smith, et il écrit actuellement du nouveau matériel avec Rik Emmett, Kim Mitchell et Wendy Lands.

Site Internet
www.monkeyhouse.com

Discographie séléctionnée
Headquarters (w. Monkey House, 2012)
Songs from the North Pole (2006)
Breathing Space (2006)
Big Money: Singles Remasters Rarities 1992-2005 (compilation, w. Monkey House, 2005)
True Winter (w. Monkey House, 1998)
Welcome to the Club (w. Monkey House, 1992)


Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1982