Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Elizabeth Shepherd


Jazz singer-songwriter

Song – "One More Day" - Now Playing ...

Bio
Elizabeth Shepherd is among Canada's most promising young talents and she has the widespread critical acclaim to prove it. The rave reviews for her first two studio albums as well as sold-out performances at prestigious venues like Tokyo’s Cotton Club, London's Jazz Café and the Hollywood Bowl have been extremely gratifying for Shepherd, but the Toronto-based singer/songwriter/pianist has never been content to rest on past achievements. Shepherd’s debut Start To Move (2006) and follow-up Parkdale (2008) were both nominated for Juno Awards, and described as “pushing the boundaries of jazz.” With the release of her third album Heavy Falls the Night, she pushes well past those boundaries to carve out her own niche of smart, sophisticated and adventurous music.


Heavy Falls the Night takes the listener on an unpredictable musical ride. Standout songs include the dancefloor-ready "Seven Bucks," co-produced by Japanese mixmaster DJ Mitsu The Beats (Dwele, Jose James), and inspired by an NFB documentary; "The Taking" – Shepherd’s powerful tribute to the women who came before her – knocked out in 11/8 time; and her supremely soulful reworking of Anne Murray's '70s soft-rock radio staple "Danny's Song," one of the few secular songs that made it past the gatekeepers in Shepherd's Salvation Army childhood home.


Shepherd's rhythmically intricate, groove-oriented tunes, sincere lyrics and distinct, soulful voice have earned her a worldwide following. Critics, hipsters and music aficionados from London to Tokyo have been spreading the word for a few years now, and will surely continue to embrace her music. With Heavy Falls the Night, Elizabeth Shepherd is destined to reach music lovers everywhere.


Performances/news this month
May 19 - Toronto, Yonge & Dundas Square
May 23 - Sault Ste. Marie, Loplops
May 24 - Thunder Bay, The Apollo
May 26 - Winnipeg, The Park Theatre
May 27 - Edmonton, Yardbird Suite
May 28 - Calgary, The Beatniq
May 29-30 - Bragg Creek, Bragg Creek Center
May 31 - Medicine Hat, The Ottoman Lounge
June 1 -Saskatoon, The Hayloft
June 12 - Cleveland, Nighttown
June 13 - Pittsburgh, Shadow Lounge


Website
www.elizabethshepherd.com


Discography
Heavy Falls the Night (2010)
Parkdale (2008)
Besides (Remixes and B-Sides) (2004)
Start to Move (2006)


SOCAN Connection
Member since 2004

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Elizabeth Shepherd


Auteure-compositrice-interprète jazz

La chanson - « One More Day » est en ondes...

Bio
Elizabeth Shepherd est parmi les talents récents les plus prometteurs au pays, et les nombreuses critiques élogieuses en sont la preuve. Les critiques de ses deux premiers albums studio de même que de ses concerts à guichet fermé dans des salles prestigieuses comme le Cotton Club, de Tokyo, le Jazz Café de Londres et le Hollywood Bowl ont été très gratifiantes pour la jeune artiste. Mais cette auteure-compositrice-interprète et pianiste de Toronto n’aime pas se reposer sur ses lauriers. Ses albums Start To Move (2006) et Parkdale (2008) ont tous deux été mis en nomination au gala des Juno, et décrits comme « reculant les frontières du jazz ». Avec son 3e opus, Heavy Falls the Night, on sent qu’elle s’est créé sa propre niche avec sa musique intelligente, sophistiquée et aventureuse.


Heavy Falls the Night amène l’auditeur dans une aventure musicale. Parmi les chansons qui se démarquent, citons « Seven Bucks », co-produite par le Japonais DJ Mitsu The Beats (Dwele, Jose James) et inspirée par un documentaire de l’ONF, « The Taking », son hommage vibrant aux femmes qui l’ont précédée, avec son beat jazz 11/8, et son interprétation pleine de soul de « Danny's Song », le succès soft-rock d’Anne Murray dans les années 70. Cette dernière était l’une des rares chansons non religieuses qu’Elizabeth avait pu entendre dans son enfance au sein d’une famille de l’Armée du Salut.


Les chansons pleines de groove, les paroles sincères et originales et la voix riche d’Elizabeth Shepherd lui ont attiré des fans partout dans le monde. Les critiques et les connaisseurs de Londres à Tokyo ont fait connaître son œuvre depuis quelques années. Et avec Heavy Falls the Night, Elizabeth Shepherd est certaine de rejoindre les amants de la musique, où qu’ils se trouvent.


Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
19 mai- Toronto, Square Yonge & Dundas
23 mai - Sault Sainte-Marie, Loplops
24 mai - Thunder Bay, The Apollo
26 mai- Winnipeg, The Park Theatre
27 mai - Edmonton, Yardbird Suite
28 mai - Calgary, The Beatniq
29-30 mai - Bragg Creek, Bragg Creek Center
31 mai - Medicine Hat, The Ottoman Lounge
1er juin -Saskatoon, The Hayloft
12 juin - Cleveland, Nighttown
13 juin - Pittsburgh, Shadow Lounge


Site Internet
www.elizabethshepherd.com


Discographie
Heavy Falls the Night (2010)
Parkdale (2008)
Besides (Remixes and B-Sides) (2004)
Start to Move (2006)


Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2004