Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Emm Gryner


Singer-songwriter

Song – "Gold Soul of Rock N' Roll"(duet w. Joel Plaskett) - Now playing...

Bio
Singer-songwriter Emm Gryner knows a thing or two about the mysteries of the human heart; her songs examine the sublime heights of how we come together, but also the murky lows of how we can let each other down.


Her latest full-length recording, Gem and I, is an album comprised entirely of duets, with such notable fellow performers as Joel Plaskett, Royal Wood, Sass Jordan and Bubbles from Trailer Park Boys. Gem and I once again showcases Gryner’s knack for melodic pop songcraft, and bears the hallmark of a mature songwriter who has truly come into her own.

Gryner has carved out an enviable career on her own terms over the past decade – long before current music-industry trends sent many artists down an independent path. Known for self-producing and self-recording almost all of her work, she recorded the songs for Gem and I whenever and wherever she could over the past few years, with 10 different duet partners in California, Ontario, New York, Ireland, England and Nova Scotia.

She's come a long way, both artistically and personally. From her earliest beginnings in Toronto’s independent music scene, to leaving a major label behind to start her own Dead Daisy Records label, to gigging as a background singer with David Bowie and being lauded by Bono (the U2 frontman name-checked Gryner’s ballad “Almighty Love” as one of the songs from the past 20 years he wished he’d written), the multiple Juno Award nominee has released 12 full-length albums and established a devoted fanbase throughout the world.

As if she wasn’t busy enough making her own records and overseeing her label (which has signed Toronto singer-songwriter Royal Wood and East Coast indie pop band In-Flight Safety), Gryner maintains a successful touring schedule in Ireland and North America, co-hosted the CBC Radio show Under the Covers with fellow songsmith Danny Michel, and even found time to make her big-screen acting debut in the Canadian film One Week.

Performances/news this month

Jan 15 - London, ON, Landon Library, Songwriting Q&A (solo)
Jan 20 - Sarnia, ON, Snowfest, Igloo Dome (full band)

Website
www.emmgryner.com

Selected discography

Gem and I (2010)
Goddess (2009)
PVT (2006)
The Summer of High Hopes (2006)
Songs of Love and Death (2005)
Asianblue (2002)
Girl Versions (2001)
Dead Relatives (2000)
The Original Leap Year (1997)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 1995

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Emm Gryner


Auteure-compositrice-interprète

La chanson - « Gold Soul of Rock N' Roll » est en ondes...

Bio
L’auteure-compositrice-interprète Emm Gryner connaît bien les mystères du cœur humain, et ses chansons examinent les sublimes hauteurs que nous pouvons atteindre en couple, mais aussi les abysses des relations décevantes.

Son plus récent album complet, Gem and I, est entièrement composé de duos, avec des interprètes aussi connus que Joel Plaskett, Royal Wood, Sass Jordan et Bubbles de l’émission Trailer Park Boys. Gem and I démontre encore une fois son talent pour les mélodies accrocheuses, de même que pour des textes de maturité, parlant des lessons que la vie lui a apprises.

Emm Gryner s’est fait connaître au cours de la dernière décennie – bien avant que ce soit à la mode d’être un artiste indépendant. Connue pour réaliser et produire seule la plupart des ses albums, elle a enregistré les chansons de Gem and I quand elle le pouvait au cours des dernières années, avec dix différents partenaires en Californie, Ontario, New York, Irlande, Angleterre et Nouvelle-Écosse.

Elle a parcouru un long chemin artistique et personnel. De ses débuts sur la scène indépendante de Toronto, en passant par sa rupture avec une étiquette majeure pour lancer sa propre compagnie, Dead Daisy Records, de son expérience avec David Bowie (pour laquelle elle a chanté), et des compliments de Bono (le chanteur de U2 a déclaré que sa pièce « Almighty Love » est l’une des chansons des 20 dernières années qu’il aurait désiré écrire lui-même), Emm Gryner a lancé 12 albums complets et compte maintenant ses fans par milliers à travers le monde.

Elle est occupée à gérer sa compagnie (qui a mis sous contrat l’auteur-compositeur interprète de Toronto Royal Wood et le groupe pop In-Flight Safety, de la région atlantique), à tourner en Irlande, co-animer l’émission Under the Covers de la radio de la CBC avec Danny Michel, et a même trouvé le temps de faire ses débuts au cinéma dans le film canadien One Week.

Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
15 janvier - London, Ont., Bibliothèque de Landon, session de questions/réponses (solo)
20 janvier - Sarnia, Ont., Snowfest, Igloo Dome (groupe complet)

Site Internet
www.emmgryner.com

Discographie sélectionnée
Gem and I (2010)
Goddess (2009)
PVT (2006)
The Summer of High Hopes (2006)
Songs of Love and Death (2005)
Asianblue (2002)
Girl Versions (2001)
Dead Relatives (2000)
The Original Leap Year (1997)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1995