Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Éric Speed


Composer, violinist

Song – "Discovering Powers" - Now Playing ...

Bio
In the 1980s, Éric Speed received a violin from his parents for his third birthday. His fascination with the instrument led to private lessons and, at the age of eight, to an audition for the Montreal Conservatory of Music.

In 2003, the young musician discovered the electric violin, and formed E.V.O (Electric Violin Operation) as an initial experiment, and a test, to see whether there was a future for electric violin concerts. The group performed on Musique Plus and went on to unprecedented success.
In 2004, Speed was featured in the film Head in the Clouds, where he portrayed the famous French jazz violinist Stéphane Grappelli. In September 2007, he decided to write his first original electric violin work, a unique piece that created a whole new music genre – the Electro-Speed violin style. Playing the violin at supersonic speeds, Éric signed up for a contest as part of On n’a pas toute la soirée, a TVA network program in Quebec whose audience voted him top artist on account of his musical style and stage presence.

Speed returned to television to compete on another program, Sucré-Salé (2008), where he played a new composition for thousands of enthusiastic viewers who voted for him in droves and propelled him to the top position once again, making him a household name overnight, in front of a mainstream audience.

Two weeks later, his first album hit the shelves and iTunes. The 1,000 copies of this self-produced, self-titled album sold in less than four months, making it the best-selling consignment album of the year. It's a collection of breathtaking pieces variously recorded live in clubs, for corporations or in the studio for a range of Canadian and American personalities and productions.

Speed has been associated with artists and agencies including Marie-Mai, John Nathaniel, Patrick Groulx, Anodajay, Sir Pathetik, Bad News Brown, Dubmatique, Annie Villeneuve, DJ Arabika, DJ Horg, Sean Murphy, MC Mario, La Patère Rose, Productions Equinoxe, Agence le Coordonateur, Agence Lion, and many more.

Website
www.ericspeed.ca

Discography
Starland (2010)
Éric Speed (2008)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2003

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Éric Speed


Compositeur, violoniste

La chanson - « Discovering Powers » est en ondes...

Bio
Dans les années 80, le jeune Éric Speed, âgé de trois ans, reçoit un violon pour sa fête. Son intérêt marqué pour l’instrument l’amène à prendre des cours privés. À l’âge de huit ans, le Conservatoire de musique de Montréal l’invite à passer une audition.

En 2003, il découvre le violon électrique. Il créé alors E.V.O (Electric Violin Operation), une première expérience et un test pour savoir si le violon électrique est apprécié du public. Le groupe ira à Musique Plus et obtiendra un succès sans précédent.

En 2004, il participe comme musicien à la production cinématographique Head in the Clouds où il incarne le célèbre violoniste jazz Stéphane Grappelli. En septembre 2007, il décide de composer une première pièce de violon électrique vraiment particulière. Un nouveau style de musique est né; le speed électro. Jouant du violon à la vitesse de la lumière, il participe à un concours lors d’une émission à TVA, On n’a pas toute la soirée. Le public adore son style musical et son look et l’adopte en le propulsant à la première place.

Éric Speed retourne à la télévision pour un autre concours dans le cadre de l’émission Sucré-Salé (2008). Il joue une nouvelle composition devant des milliers de téléspectateurs enthousiastes qui votent à nouveau pour lui. Il remporte à nouveau la première place. Pour la première fois son nom d’artiste est dévoilé au grand public.

Deux semaines plus tard, son premier album arrive sur les tablettes et sur iTunes. Autoproduit à 1000 exemplaires, il s’écoule en moins de quatre mois et devient le meilleur vendeur en consignation de l’année. Il offre des performances à couper le souffle dans les clubs, pour des corpos ou en studio avec diverses personnalités et productions de la scène canadienne et américaine.

Éric Speed a collaboré avec des noms tel que Marie-Mai, John Nathaniel, Patrick Groulx, Anodajay, Sir Pathetik, Bad News Brown, Dubmatique, Annie Villeneuve, DJ Arabika, DJ Horg, Sean Murphy, MC Mario, la Patère Rose, Productions Equinoxe, Agence le Coordonateur, Agence Lion, et plusieurs autres.

Site Internet
www.ericspeed.ca


Discographie
Starland (2010)
Éric Speed (2008)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2003