Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Freeman Dre


Singer-songwriter, bandleader of The Kitchen Party

Song – "Oak Tree" - Now playing...

Bio
The richly textured atmosphere may remind you of Leonard Cohen and Tom Waits. You'll hear echoes of Lou Reed's sketchy, fizzed-out urban tableaux and the visceral honesty of alt-country greats like Johnny Cash and Townes Van Zandt. Layered into the mix are lyrical fearlessness and an experimental ear for beats, like those of blues/hip-hop fusion pioneers such as Everlast and Buck 65. That's Freeman Dre, and his Kitchen Party is a cult following in the making.

Dre's writing style is characterized by highly personal lyrics, and his signature raspy singing voice. His songs frequently portray dark and seedy situations and characters, although he has a penchant for more conventional ballads. Pete Meades, manager of the Black Dog Pub in Bayfield, Ontario, once said, "If Dre's tunes were movies, they'd be closer to Jim Jarmusch than James Cameron."

His band The Kitchen Party takes its name from the great and timeless East Coast tradition of friends and neighbours gathering together in the kitchen for an evening of laughter, drinks and music. The soul of this music comes from Dre's apartment in one of Toronto's most colourful and creatively fertile neighbourhoods, Parkdale. It's a place full of characters, where friends hang out in the kitchen most every night; where a raccoon recently tried to give birth in Dre's vinyl collection; where Hank the cat comes to chill out from life in the mean streets and alleys; and where a lot of music gets made.

Now, after packing Toronto clubs like The Dakota and Bread & Circus for more than a year, Freeman Dre & The Kitchen Party are ready to take their show on the road with their new debut album, Red Door 2nd Floor. Produced by John Critchley (Dan Mangan, Elliott Brood) at his Green Door Studio, the 12-song album captures the life of the Party – with a free spirit, a kind heart, an open ear and a bright future.


Website
www.myspace.com/freemandrethekitchenparty
www.youtube.com/kitchenpartyjams

Discography

Red Door 2nd Floor (2010)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2003

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Freeman Dre


Auteur-compositeur-interprète, chanteur principal du groupe The Kitchen Party

La chanson - « Oak Tree » est en ondes...

Bio
L’atmosphère riche et texturée vous rappelle peut-être Leonard Cohen et Tom Waits. Vous entendrez des échos des tableaux urbains de Lou Reed et l’honnêteté viscérale de géants du alt-country comme Johnny Cash et Townes Van Zandt. On y retrouve aussi des textes sans compromis et des beats expérimentaux rappelant ceux de pionniers de la fusion blues/hip-hop comme Everlast et Buck 65. Voilà comment se présente Freeman Dre, et son groupe Kitchen Party est sur le seuil de devenir un objet de culte.

Le style d’écriture de Freeman Dre est très personnel, de même que sa voix rauque. Ses chansons mettent souvent en scène des personnages noirs et des situations marginales, bien qu’on retrouve aussi des ballades plus conventionnelles dans son répertoire. Pete Meades, gérant du Black Dog Pub de Bayfield, Ontario, a déjà déclaré : « Si les chansons de Freeman Dre étaient des films, elles seraient plus proches de Jim Jarmusch que de James Cameron. »

Son groupe The Kitchen Party tire son nom de cette tradition bien ancrée dans la Côte Est : amis et voisins se rassemblent dans une cuisine pour une soirée de rires, de boissons et de musique. L’âme de sa musique a pris naissance dans un quartier très coloré de Toronto, Parkdale. Dans ce dernier, on trouve une galerie de personnages, et des amis se rassemblent dans leur cuisine presque tous les soirs. Une femelle raton-laveur a tenté récemment d’y mettre bas dans la collection de vinyles de Freeman Dre et son chat Hank explore les allées et ruelles; dans Parkdale, on crée beaucoup de musique.

Après avoir rempli des clubs de Toronto comme The Dakota et Bread & Circus pendant plus d’un an, Freeman Dre & The Kitchen Party sont prêts à commencer une tournée avec leur premier album, Red Door 2nd Floor. Produit par John Critchley (Dan Mangan, Elliott Brood) à son Green Door Studio, l’album de 12 chansons capture l’esprit du Party : un esprit libre, un cœur généreux, une oreille ouverte et un avenir prometteur.


Site Internet
www.myspace.com/freemandrethekitchenparty
youtube.com/kitchenpartyjams

Discographie
Red Door 2nd Floor (2010)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2003