Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Gaële


Singer-songwriter

Song – "Femme en ic" - Now Playing ...

Bio
Gaële, a singer-songwriter originally from the French Alps who's now a proud Quebec resident, is a combination of two cultures, whose world is a contrasting amalgam of musical styles and imagery, organic and electronic textures, fantasy and melancholy, and effervescence and gravitas.


A diversified artist, Gaële dabbles in many media such as the visual arts, photography, dance, theatre and other forms of expression. Attracted to melodies, choral singing, richly harmonic classical music and French chanson, she completed her musicology studies in France before moving to Quebec in 2000 to study jazz and pop singing at UQAM (University of Quebec at Montreal). There, she stuidied with, among others, the guitarist François Bourassa and the lyricist Robert Léger, who helped her develop the technique and musical vocabulary she needed to grow her own writing style, and bridge the gap between her French influences and the Quebec reality, to which she was gradually accommodating.


Gaële’s rich experience of the French artistic life certainly contributed to her early successes on this side of the Atlantic. Her awards and competitions include SPACQ’s 2009 André “Dédé” Fortin Award, a 2008 award from the Tremplin Découvertes des Déferlantes de Cap Breton (France), Relève Archambault (2008), a grant from the Fondation du Maire de Montréal pour la Jeunesse, and the Cirque du Soleil award (Bourse Rideau 2008). In 2005, she also participated in Festival en chanson de Petite-Vallée and was a finalist in the Granby International Song Festival.


Those honours helped bring Gaële to many European and local stages, both as a solo act and with other singers such as Catherine Durand, Mara Tremblay, Ève Cournoyer and Ginette. She participated in Edgar Bori’s Dans ce monde pout pout show and has opened shows for the likes of the French singer Nicole Croisille and the Quebec artists Karkwa, Claire Pelletier and Richard Desjardins. She has also written songs for Marie-Pierre Arthur, Line Renaud, Monica Freire, Alexandre Désilet, Cusson/Merville/Montcalm and many more.


Diamant de papier, Gaële’s second opus, was released in 2010, two-and-a-half years after Cockpit. A critically acclaimed collection, it soon placed among the 10 most played albums on Radio-Canada’s broadcasting platforms.


Performances/news this month
June 12 - Montreal, FrancoFolies, Rentrée montréalaise
June 18 - Montreal, as a guest of Damien Robitaille, FrancoFolies de Montréal
June 19 - Montreal, "Toutes les filles" at FrancoFolies de Montréal


Website
http://www.gaele.net
http://www.myspace.com/infogaele


Discography
Diamant de papier (2010)
Cockpit (2007)


SOCAN Connection
Member since 2007

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Gaële


Auteure-compositrice-interprète

La chanson - « Femme en ic » est en ondes...

Bio
Dualité assumée, voilà qui décrit bien Gaële, auteure-compositrice et interprète originaire des Alpes françaises et Québécoise d’adoption. Son univers est un amalgame de deux cultures, mais aussi de musique et d’images, de textures organiques et électroniques, de fantaisie et de mélancolie, d’effervescence et de gravité.


Gaële est une artiste aux multiples médiums et aux dons diversifiés, qui touche également aux arts visuels, aime le jeu à la caméra, la danse, le théâtre et bien d’autres formes d’expression. Attirée par les mélodies, le chant choral et les richesses harmoniques de la musique classique, Gaële complète des études en musicologie en France. Forte de sa culture et de son intérêt pour la chanson française, elle débarque donc au Québec en 2000 afin d’entreprendre une formation à l’UQAM en chant jazz et populaire, notamment avec François Bourassa et Robert Léger. Ceux-ci aident Gaële à acquérir la technique et le vocabulaire musical lui permettant de développer son style d’écriture et de faire le pont entre ses influences françaises et les nouvelles références québécoises qu’elle emmagasine peu à peu.


Les nombreuses rencontres et expériences artistiques vécues ici et en France contribuent certainement à en faire la lauréate de nombreux prix et concours, dont le Prix André « Dédé » Fortin de la SPACQ (2009), Tremplin Découvertes des Déferlantes de Cap Breton (2008), Relève Archambault (2008), récipiendaire d’une Bourse de la Fondation du Maire de Montréal pour la jeunesse, Prix Cirque du Soleil ( Bourse Rideau 2008), Festival en chanson de Petite-Vallée (2005), finaliste au Festival international de la chanson de Granby (2005), entre autres.


Ces honneurs la mènent sur plusieurs scènes d’ici et d’Europe, en solo ou avec d’autres artistes comme Catherine Durand, Mara Tremblay, Ève Cournoyer et Ginette, elle collabore au spectacle de Bori, Dans ce monde pout pout. et fait la première partie de plusieurs grands noms tels que Nicole Croisille, Karkwa, Claire Pelletier et Richard Desjardins. Gaële a aussi écrit pour Marie-Pierre Arthur, Line Renaud, Monica Freire, Alexandre Désilet, Cusson/Merville/Montcalm, et plusieurs autres.


Son deuxième album, Diamant de papier, vient de paraître en avril 2010, deux ans et demi après son premier opus, Cockpit. Il a fait l’objet de critiques élogieuses et a rapidement été classé au palmarès des dix albums les plus diffusés sur les différentes plateformes de Radio-Canada.


Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
12 juin - Montréal, FrancoFolies, Rentrée montréalaise
18 juin - Montréal, invitée de Damien Robitaille, FrancoFolies de Montréal
19 juin - Montréal, « Toutes les filles » aux FrancoFolies de Montréal


Site Internet
http://www.gaele.net
http://www.myspace.com/infogaele


Discographie
Diamant de papier (2010)
Cockpit (2007)


Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2007