Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Geneviève Morissette


Singer-songwriter, pianist

Song – "Ça veut pu" - Now playing...

Bio
Born in Jonquière, now part of the city of Saguenay, and living in Montreal, the pianist-singer-songwriter Geneviève Morissette studied singing with Johanne Blouin and jazz piano with François Bourassa and at the University of Quebec at Montreal, among others. Known for her unique style and intensity, her music has been described as a cross between pop, soul and slam music.

Morissette’s influences include the Quebec artists Diane Dufresne, Les Colocs, Karkwa, Richard Desjardins and Chloé Ste-Marie, as well as singing legend Aretha Franklin. A 2009 winner of the Ma Première Place des Arts competition and the Festival de la chanson de St-Ambroise contest in the singer-songwriter category, she was also the 2010 official selection of the Vue sur la relève festival. Her concert performances are an idiosyncratic mixture of humour, depth and fantasy, and her songs are playful amalgams of Quebec linguistic references alternating between “proper French” and “Franglais.”

Geneviève Morissette has presented her original songs at events such as the Coup de cœur francophone festival, the Montreal Lion d’Or’s Cabaret Libre Influence, the Festival de la chanson de Tadoussac, and a 2010 Grand Huit tour in Quebec and France. She has now been working for more than a year on a soon-to-be-released debut album.

Website
www.genevievemorissette.com
www.myspace.com/genevieveam


Discography

Debut album due shortly

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2010

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Geneviève Morissette


Auteure-compositrice-interprète, pianiste

La composition – « Ça veut pu » est en ondes...

Bio
Née à Jonquière et maintenant installée à Montréal, l’auteure-compositrice-interprète et pianiste Geneviève Morissette a fait ses études musicales avec Johanne Blouin et François Bourassa, respectivement en chant et en piano jazz ainsi qu’en piano jazz à l’Université du Québec à Montréal, entre autres. Reconnue pour la particularité de son style et pour son intensité, on dit que sa musique est un hybride entre la chanson, le soul et le slam.

Elle compte parmi ses influences Diane Dufresne, Les Colocs, Karkwa, Richard Desjardins, Chloé Ste-Marie et Aretha Franklin. En spectacle, l'humour, la profondeur et la fantaisie se conjuguent. Gagnante de la 15e édition de Ma première Place des Arts 2009, lauréate 2009 du Festival de la chanson de St-Ambroise dans la catégorie auteur-compositeur-interprète, sélection officielle 2010 du festival Vue sur la relève, sa façon particulière d'écrire démontre son attachement à l'identité québécoise, une langue pleine de contractions, un mélange de bon français, d'anglicismes et de joual.

Geneviève Morissette a présenté ses compositions dans plusieurs événements de chanson notamment aux Coups de cœur francophone, au Cabaret Libre Influence présenté au Lion d'Or et au Festival de la chanson de Tadoussac. Après une tournée du Grand Huit au Québec et en France à l’automne 2010, Geneviève Morissette lancera prochainement son premier album, qu’elle peaufine depuis plus d’un an.


Site Internet
www.genevievemorissette.com
www.myspace.com/genevieveam

Discographie
Début album en preparation

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2010