Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Geoff Berner


Klezmer singer-songwriter, accordion player

Song – "Wealthy Poet" - Now playing...

Bio
Vancouver singer-songwriter-accordion player Geoff Berner once described his intent as follows: “I want to make original klezmer music that’s drunk, dirty, political and passionate.”

After extensive international touring, festival appearances, airplay on national radio, and opening slots with artists such as Billy Bragg, Corb Lund and The Be Good Tanyas (who covered his song "Light Enough to Travel"), he's garnered critical acclaim and a sizable cult following – especially in Canada, England and Scandinavia – for his sharp songwriting, cabaret performance style, and consistent approach – klezmer informed with the energy and passion of punk.

The klezmer-punk sound was bolstered by a research trip in 2004 to rural Romania, from which he returned with a deeper understanding of the music. Now, Berner's openness to experimentation, spirited Eastern European influences, punk rock attitude and work with producer/mastermind Josh Dolgin (Socalled) have resulted his innovative, engaging, lively and surprise-filled seventh recording, Victory Party.

Producer Dolgin was crucial to the process. Better known as Socalled, Dolgin is an acknowledged genius of modern Jewish music. He's famous for his own albums, which fuse hip-hop and klezmer. A feature film about him, The Socalled Movie, was released internationally in 2010 by the National Film Board.

“I had to swallow a great deal of anxiety to be able to hand the reigns of production over to someone else," says Berner. "And if anything, he exceeded my expectations. He had a new idea for making a song better every three to five minutes."

Berner’s live shows tend to devolve into crazed, chaotic, drunken dancing and psychotic laughter. His audience are composed largely of odd, bookish people who like to drink; they come out to pack the bars where he's playing in Berlin, Amsterdam, Oslo and Zurich, as well as in Canada.

Website
http://geoffberner.com/

Discography
Victory Party (2011)
Klezmer Mongrels (2009)
The Wedding Dance of the Widow Bride (2007)
Whiskey Rabbi (2005)
Live in Oslo (2004)
We Shall Not Flag or Fail We Shall Go On To The End (2002)
Light Enough to Travel (2001)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2003

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Geoff Berner


Auteur-compositeur-interprète de musique klezmer, accordéoniste

La chanson – « Wealthy Poet » est en ondes...

Bio
L’auteur-compositeur-interprète de musique klezmer et accordéoniste Geoff Berner, de Vancouver, a décrit sa mission comme suit : « je veux faire de la musique klezmer originale, sale, engagée politiquement, passionnée et remplie d’ivresse ».

Après de nombreuses tournées et apparitions dans des festivals, à faire des premières parties pour des artistes comme Billy Bragg, Corb Lund et The Be Good Tanyas (qui ont repris sa chanson « Light Enough to Travel »), sans compter ses rotations radio, il a conquis les critiques et de nombreux fans au Canada, en Angleterre et en Scandinavie. Son écriture, son style cabaret et son « klezmer punk » ont convaincu.

Le son klezmer punk découle d’un voyage de recherche fait en Roumanie en 2004, où il a découvert de nouvelles profondeurs à son style favori. Ouvert à l’expérimentation et aux influences diverses de l’Europe de l’Est, il a travaillé avec le producteur et auteur Josh Dolgin (Socalled) à un 7
e album rempli de surprises, Victory Party.

Le travail de son producteur Dolgin fut essentiel à cet opus. Connu sous le pseudonyme de Socalled, Dolgin est un génie de la musique juive. Ses propres albums, une fusion de hip-hop et de klezmer, sont très connus. Un long métrage sur lui, The Socalled Movie, fut lancé en 2010 by par l’Office national du film.

Geoff Berner estime avoir « beaucoup ravalé mon angoisse pour confier la production à quelqu’un d’autre. Mais le résultat a dépassé mes attentes. Dolgin avait de nouvelles idées toutes les trois à cinq minutes pour enrichir mes chansons ».

Les spectacles de Berner sont remplis de danse et de rires, voire de chaos. Son public est souvent composé de personnages étranges, des intellectuels qui aiment aussi boire. Ils viennent nombreux l’applaudir dans les bars où il se produit, que ce soit à Berlin, Amsterdam, Oslo ou Zurich, sans compter au pays.


Site Internet
http://geoffberner.com/

Discographie

Victory Party (2011)
Klezmer Mongrels (2009)
The Wedding Dance of the Widow Bride (2007)
Whiskey Rabbi (2005)
Live in Oslo (2004)
We Shall Not Flag or Fail We Shall Go On To The End (2002)
Light Enough to Travel (2001)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2003