Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Hildegard Westerkamp


Electroacoustic composer

Composition– Für Dich – For You (excerpt) - Now playing...

Bio
Hildegard Westerkamp emigrated to Canada from Germany in 1968. After completing her music studies in the early '70s her ears were drawn beyond music to the acoustic environment as a broader cultural context or place for intense listening. Whether as a composer, educator, or radio artist, most of her work since has centred around environmental sound and acoustic ecology.

Westerkamp has taught courses in Acoustic Communication at Simon Fraser University (1981-91) in Vancouver, and she continues to lecture and conducts workshops internationally. She's a founding member of the World Forum for Acoustic Ecology (WFAE, 1993) and was the editor of The Soundscape Newsletter from 1991-95. She now serves on the editorial committee of Soundscape – The Journal of Acoustic Ecology, a new publication of the WFAE.


Westerkamp's compositions, which have been performed and broadcast throughout the world, deal with aspects of the acoustic environment: with urban, rural or wilderness soundscapes; with the voices of children, men and women; with noise or silence, music and media sounds; or with the sounds of different cultures. She's composed film soundtracks, sound documents for radio and has produced and hosted radio programs such as Soundwalking and Musica Nova on Vancouver Co-operative Radio. Excerpts of her compositions have been included in the soundtracks of Elephant and Last Days, two films by noted Hollywood director Gus van Sant.

In several compositions Westerkamp has combined her treatment of environmental sounds with the poetry of Canadian writer Norbert Ruebsaat. More recently, she's written her own texts for a series of performance pieces for spoken text and tape. In addition to her electroacoustic compositions, she's created pieces for specific physical sites, such as the Harbour Symphony (1986) and École polytechnique (1990). In pieces like Into India, she explores the deeper implications of transferring environmental sounds from a foreign place into the North American context of electroacoustic composition.

Most recently she collaborated with several Indian colleagues on a sound installation in New Delhi entitled Nada – an Experience in Sound, sponsored by the New Delhi Goethe Institut and the Indira Ghandi National Centre for the Arts. By focusing the ear's attention to details both familiar and foreign in the acoustic environment, Westerkamp draws attention to the inner, hidden spaces of the environment we inhabit.

Für Dich – For You is based on the poem Liebes-Lied by Rainer Maria Rilke and its newest translation into English, Love Song, by Norbert Ruebsaat.

Website
www.sfu.ca/~westerka/index.html

Discography
Transformations (Reissue, 2010)
Trans Canada (Various Artists, 2009)
Into India (2002)
Transformations (1996)
Transmissions from Broadcast Artists, Radius #4 (Various Artists, 1995)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 1978

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Hildegard Westerkamp


Compositrice électroacoustique

Le composition - Für Dich – For You (extrait) est en ondes...

Bio
Hildegard Westerkamp a émigré au Canada en provenance d’Allemagne en 1968. Après avoir terminé ses études en musique au début des années 70, elle est attirée par l’électroacoustique à titre de contexte culturel et à cause de l’intensité de l’écoute exigée. À titre de compositrice, professeur ou artiste diffusée à la radio, son travail tourne depuis autour du son ambiant et de l’écologie électroacoustique.


Hildegard Westerkamp a enseigné en Communication acoustique à l’Université Simon Fraser de Vancouver (1981-91), et elle continue à offrir des classes et des ateliers à travers le monde. Elle est membre fondatrice du World Forum for Acoustic Ecology (WFAE, 1993) et fut la rédactrice en chef de The Soundscape Newsletter de 1991 à 1995. Elle est actuellement au comité éditorial de Soundscape – The Journal of Acoustic Ecology, une nouvelle publication de la WFAE.

Les compositions de Hildegard Westerkamp ont été interprétées et diffusées à travers le monde. Elles traitent de différents aspects de l’environnement acoustique, avec des paysages sonores urbains, ruraux ou sauvages, des voix d’enfants, d’hommes et de femmes, de la musique ou des sons d’ici ou d’autres cultures. Elle a composé des trames sonores de films, des documents sonores pour la radio et elle a produit et animé des émissions de radio comme Soundwalking et Musica Nova sur la Co-operative Radio de Vancouver. Des extraits de ses compositions sont inclus dans les trames sonores de deux films de Gus van Sant, Elephant et Last Days.

Dans plusieurs de ses compositions, Hildegard Westerkamp a combiné son traitement de sons environnementaux avec la poésie de l’auteur canadien Norbert Ruebsaat. Plus récemment, elle a écrit ses propres textes pour une série de spectacles de création parlée et bandes. En plus de ses compositions électroacoustiques, elle a créé des pièces pour des sites spécifiques, comme Harbour Symphony (1986) et École polytechnique (1990). Dans des pièces comme Into India, elle explore les implications profondes du transfert des sons environnementaux d’un pays étranger dans le contexte d’une composition électroacoustique nord-américaine.

Elle a collaboré avec plusieurs collègues indiens sur une installation sonore à New Delhi, intitulée Nada – an Experience in Sound, commanditée par l’Institut Goethe de New Delhi et l’Indira Ghandi National Centre for the Arts. En attirant notre oreille vers des détails à la fois familiers et étrangers de l’environnement acoustique, elle nous fait remarquer les espaces cachés de l’environnement que nous habitons.

Für Dich – For You est basée sur le poème Liebes-Lied de Rainer Maria Rilke et sa récente traduction en anglais, Love Song, par Norbert Ruebsaat.

Site Internet
www.sfu.ca/~westerka/index.html

Discographie
Transformations (Nouvelle édition, 2010)
Trans Canada (Artistes variés, 2009)
Into India (2002)
Transformations (1996)
Transmissions from Broadcast Artists, Radius #4 (Artistes variés, 1995)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1978