Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Hôtel Morphée


Singer-songwriter, violinist Laurence Nerbonne

Song – "Novembre est mort" - Now playing...

Bio
With Laurence Nerbonne on vocals and violin, Blaise Borboën-Léonard on violin, Pierre-Alexandre Maranda on double bass, André Pelletier on guitar and Stéphane Lemieux on drums, Hôtel Morphée is an uncompromising band that uses pop, indie and contemporary classical music influences to develop a distinctive musical world by pushing vocal and instrumental limits to create new sounds. Following in the footsteps of such popular Quebec and international artists as Karkwa, Patrick Watson, Lhasa de Sela, Portishead, Philip Glass and Dmitri Shostakovitch, the band’s melodic explorations and layered compositions have attracted considerable attention in recent months in Quebec venues such as the 2009 and 2010 Festival de l’Outaouais Émergent, Vue sur la relève, Révèle la Relève, Bourse RIDEAU, FrancoFolies de Montréal, MusiquePlus and the Granby International Song Festival, where the band reached the finals.

Laurence Nerbonne studied acoustic violin for 15 years and, at 17, switched to electric violin and started performing in bars and concert venues in and around Montreal. At 21, she began playing with a variety of pop bands with which she performed some 50 concerts in Quebec and the Western provinces, and ended up creating her own string group, Hôtel Morphée, one that would allow her to combine her main interests for music composition and vocal performance.

After taking private violin lessons for many years, Blaise Borboën-Léonard continued his training at the Montreal Conservatory of Music to fulfill his lifelong dream of becoming a composer. He later broadened his instrumental palette by taking up the viola while studying composition with Michel Gonneville as part of the Conservatory’s graduate program in instrumental composition. A coffeehouse and bar performer in a variety of bands since the age of 15, Borboën-Léonard created the progressive rock band Triton, which went on to release three albums of original compositions. In 2007, he became the official violinist of the internationally renowned avant-garde metal band Unexpect, with which he performed more than 60 European and North American concerts each year. An in-demand musician with an open musical mind and a taste for eclecticism and musical collaboration, Borboën-Léonard now shares his time between L’ensemble Allogège, Hôtel Morphée, Unexpect and Queen KA.

Dazzled by the rock star myth, André Pelletier picked up a classical guitar at the age of six. After a few years of private lessons and musical explorations, he switched to electric guitar and discovered his true passion for musical performance and composition. Variously influenced by rock, pop, jazz and alternative music, he studied jazz guitar at Montreal’s Vanier College and co-founded Éléphantine, an electropop band that released the EP Sous le règne des lampadaires in 2008 and its first full-length album (Le Bonheur en 3D) in 2009. André Pelletier has just joined Hôtel Morphée.


Stéphane Lemieux began studying the tuba in high school and took up drums at the age of 13. A mostly self-taught musician, he studied jazz drumming with Maurice Metayer, and has been a member of the experimental band Premier Mai for the past five years.

Pierre-Alexandre Maranda is currently working towards a master’s degree at the Montreal Conservatory of Music. He holds graduate and post-graduate degrees in double bass studies, and is a veteran of René Lussier and Marcel Lepage improvisation classes. He has also been first double bass for the joint Music Conservatory and University of Montreal program under the direction of Kent Nagano, and has participated in the recording of a variety film scores at INIS (Institut national de l’image et du son) under the direction of Robert Marcel Lepage. He continues his music training as part of the Musique Avenir contemporary music ensemble while teaching double bass at Polyvalente Curé-Mercure, a comprehensive school located in Mont-Tremblant, north of Montreal.

Performances/news this month
February 4 – Montreal, Il Motore
February. 11 – Montreal, Club Soda (opening for Ariel)

Website
http://hotelmorphee.com
http://vimeo.com/17747467

Discography

Novembre est mort (2010)
Hôtel Morphée (EP, 2009)

SOCAN Connection
Laurence Nerbonne has been a member since 2010

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Hôtel Morphée


Laurence Nerbonne, auteure-compositrice-interprète et violoniste

La chanson - « Novembre est mort » est en ondes...

Bio
Formé des musiciens Laurence Nerbonne (voix, violon), Blaise Borboën-Léonard (violon), Pierre-Alexandre Maranda (contrebasse), André Pelletier (guitare) et Stéphane Lemieux (batterie), le groupe Hôtel Morphée compose sans compromis. Puisant dans plusieurs influences — pop, indie, classique contemporain — il s’efforce de développer un univers musical original, de repousser les limites de l’instrument et de la voix et de créer des sons nouveaux, s’inscrivant ainsi par sa démarche, son exploration mélodique et ses compositions en strates dans la lignée des Karkwa, Patrick Watson et Lhasa, voire de Portishead, Philip Glass et Chostakovitch. Au cours des derniers mois, Hôtel Morphée a eu des performances remarquées au Festival de l’Outaouais Émergent (2009 et 2010), à Vue sur la relève, à Révèle la Relève, à la bourse RIDEAU, aux FrancoFolies de Montréal, à MusiquePlus ainsi qu’au Festival International de la Chanson de Granby, où il a accédé la finale.

Laurence Nerbonne suit des cours de violon classique durant 15 ans, et à l’âge de 17 ans, se met au violon électrique et se produit dans divers bars et salles de spectacles de la région de Montréal. À 21 ans, elle intègre divers groupes pop avec qui elle donne une cinquantaine de spectacles aux Québec et dans l’Ouest canadien. Elle décide finalement de lancer un projet à majorité de cordes et fonde le groupe Hôtel Morphée avec lequel elle développe un grand intérêt pour la composition et le chant.

Après plusieurs année de cours privés de violon, Blaise Borboën-Léonard poursuit sa formation au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal et ayant toujours eu l’ambition de devenir compositeur, il élargit sa palette d’instruments en entamant un deuxième cycle en alto tout en suivant des cours avec le compositeur Michel Gonneville, au sein du programme supérieur de composition instrumentale. Parallèlement à ses études, il commence à 15 ans à se produire dans divers cafés et bars au sein de formations de tout genres. Il fonde l’ensemble de rock progressif Triton, qui enregistre trois disques de compositions originales. En janvier 2007, il devient violoniste officiel du groupe métal avant-gardiste de renommée internationale Unexpect, avec lequel il effectue plus d’une soixantaine de concerts par année à travers l’Europe et l’Amérique du Nord. Musicien toujours en demande, entre L’ensemble Allogège, Hôtel Morphée, Unexpect et Queen KA son ouverture d’esprit et son goût pour l’éclectisme l’amène à collaborer avec de nombreux artistes.

André Pelletier ramasse une guitare classique à l’âge de six ans, émerveillé par le mythe de la « rock star ». Après quelques années de cours privés et d’exploration, il se tourne vers la guitare électrique et découvre une véritable passion pour la création et l’interprétation musicales. Son parcours l’amène à l’étude de la guitare jazz au Collège Vanier. Influencé par la musique rock, pop, jazz et alternative, André cofonde la formation électro-pop Éléphantine, qui sort un EP (Sous le règne des lampadaires) en 2008 et un premier album complet (Le Bonheur en 3D) en 2009. Il vient aussi d’intégrer les rangs d’Hôtel Morphée.

Stéphane Lemieux commence ses études musicales en tuba au secondaire. Dès l’âge de 13 ans, il se met à la batterie. Principalement autodidacte, il a étudié le jazz avec Maurice Metayer. Il est membre depuis cinq ans du groupe expérimental Premier Mai.

Pierre-Alexandre Maranda est actuellement étudiant à la maîtrise au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal. Il obtient ses diplômes de deuxième et troisième cycle en contrebasse et participe aux classes d’improvisation de René Lussier et Marcel Lepage. Pierre-Alexandre a également été chef de section pour le programme conjoint du Conservatoire et de l’Université de Montréal sous la direction de Kent Nagano. Il a participé à l’enregistrement de diverses musiques de films dans le cadre de l’INIS sous la direction de Robert Marcel Lepage. Ce jeune musicien poursuit sa formation au sein de l’ensemble contemporain Musique Avenir et est maintenant enseignant en contrebasse à la Polyvalente Curé-Mercure.

Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
4 février - Montréal, Il Motore
11 février - Montréal, Club Soda (en première partie d'Ariel)

Site Internet
http://hotelmorphee.com
http://vimeo.com/17747467

Discographie
Novembre est mort (2010)
Hôtel Morphée (EP, 2009)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Laurence Nerbonne est membre depuis 2010