Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Jay Aymar


Singer-songwriter

Song – "Passing Through" - Now playing...

Bio
You’ll never find Jay Aymar in a martini bar. Give him a beer and a toasted western sandwich, talk about inexpensive hotels, waitresses at truck stops, and the small towns that dot this country from St. John’s to Vancouver Island, and you’ll find a man you’ll want to be friends with.

There's a bit of Jay Aymar in all of us. He's an ordinary sort of guy, on one level; generous, warm-hearted, funny and kind. On another, he's an extraordinary songwriter who can tell his story and tell yours at the same time. He writes songs almost every day, and three or four days every week, he’s standing in front of people playing those songs and telling those stories. It could be in a bar on Toronto’s Danforth Avenue, a hotel in Humboldt, Saskatchewan, or someone’s living room in Morden, Manitoba. Could be at a festival in British Columbia, a coffee house in New Brunswick, or a tavern in Tobermory.

Not that it seems like "work" for this man from Sault St. Marie, just songs about the good times and the bad that he’s lived through, which are pretty well like the good and bad times we've all been through. Aymar's had crumby jobs, disappointments, and relationships which didn’t work out (sometimes badly). He’s also had close friends, a support network, and relationships that did work. Most of all he has a sense of humour about it all, and he's had his music all these years as his daily companion.

He's the real deal. No pretension, no airs, no showbiz nonsense. Plain as a Tim Horton's double-double and as straight as the highway between Regina and Calgary. Legendary songwriter Ian Tyson recognized as much when he recorded Aymar's "My Cherry Coloured Rose," a song that deftly humanizes tough-guy hockey commentator Don Cherry by portraying him in the afermath of the death of his wife Rose. "Jay has written a true Canadian folk song," said Tyson. "It's a classic."

Passing Through is the fourth album of what Aymar cheerfully calls "home-made songs," and it’s his best work yet.


Performances/news this month
February 16-19 - Memphis, Folk Alliance Conference

Website

www.jayaymar.com

Discography

Passing Through (2011)
Halfway Home (2008)
Cashing in on Peace (2000)
Howling at the Moon (1996)


SOCAN Connection
Member since 1993

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Jay Aymar


Auteur-compositeur-interprète

La chanson – « Passing Through » est en ondes...

Bio
Vous ne trouverez jamais Jay Aymar dans un bar à martini. Offrez-lui plutôt une bière et un sandwich western, parlez-lui d’hôtels, de serveuses et de relais routiers modestes et des petites villes qui parsèment le pays de St-Jean à l’île de Vancouver, et vous trouverez en lui un ami.

Nous avons tous une part de Jay Aymar en nous. D’un côté, c’est un gars ordinaire, généreux, chaleureux et au bon sens de l’humour. D’un autre, c’est un auteur-compositeur extraordinaire qui peut raconter son histoire et parler de la vôtre tout en même temps. Il écrit des chansons presque chaque jour et, trois ou quatre jours par semaine, il se tient devant les foules à jouer ces chansons et à raconter ces histoires. Cela peut être dans un bar sur Danforth Avenue à Toronto, un hôtel de Humboldt, en Saskatchewan, ou dans le salon de quelqu’un à Morden, au Manitoba. On peut le trouver dans un festival de Colombie-Britannique, un café du Nouveau-Brunswick ou une taverne de Tobermory.

Non que cela ressemble à un « boulot » pour ce type de Sault Ste-Marie, ses chansons parlent simplement des hauts et des bas qu’il a traversés dans la vie et qui ressemblent au bons et aux mauvais moments que nous avons tous connus. Jay Aymar a eu ses petits emplois minables, ses déceptions et ses relations sans lendemain (ou qui ont mal tourné). Mais il a eu aussi des amis très proches, un réseau de soutien et d’autres relations qui, elles, ont bien tourné. Et surtout, il a un sens de l’humour qui lui faire rire de tout ça, et il a sa musique qui lui tient quotidiennement compagnie depuis toutes ces années.

Il est authentique. Il est sans prétention ni faux-airs, et le monde du spectacle ne lui monte pas à la tête. Aussi simple qu’un café deux-sucres-deux-crèmes de Tim Horton's, il est aussi droit que l’autoroute qui va de Regina à Calgary. Le célèbre auteur-compositeur Ian Tyson a rendu à Jay Aymar un vibrant hommage en enregistrant l’une de ses chansons, « My Cherry Coloured Rose », qui humanise le personnage plutôt rude du commentateur de hockey Don Cherry en le dépeignant après le décès de son épouse Rose. « Jay a écrit une vraie chanson folk canadienne, » dit Tyson. « C’est un classique. »

Le quatrième album de Jay Aymar, Passing Through, qui comprend des « chansons maison » comme il le dit affectueusement, est son meilleur à ce jour.


Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
16-19 février - Memphis, Folk Alliance Conference

Site Internet
www.jayaymar.com

Discographie
Passing Through (2011)
Halfway Home (2008)
Cashing in on Peace (2000)
Howling at the Moon (1996)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1993