Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Jay Sewall


Blues singer-songwriter, harmonica player

Song – "Funk in Your Soul" - Now playing...

Bio
Jay Sewall was born in 1942 a few minutes from Fenway Park, home of the Boston Red Sox, and moved with his mother to Montreal at the age of four. At 15, he bought his first guitar and, during this period, started his first band, the Petes & Jay Quartet. They played the songs of the day – Elvis, Jerry Lee Lewis, Duane Eddy – as well as hits from the 1940s and some of Sewall's compositions.


In 1962, Sewall went to the University of New Brunswick where he studied Physical Education, and went on to teach high school while continuing to perform his idols’ music and his own songs throughout the 1960s.

In 1967, Sewall won the UNB talent contest in Saint John, N. B. It was during this period that he learned to play harmonica – the instrument that would become his true passion. Finally, in 1977, Sewall left schoolteaching and went to Chicago, Detroit and Toronto, and finally returned to Montreal where he formed a very successful group, The Mighty Jay Blues Band. However, the need for change prevailed once again, and after performing at the Montreal International Jazz Festival in 1985, Sewall disbanded the group and headed off to India where he pursued his love for yoga and meditation.


In the late 1980s, Sewall made another major move – he left Montreal for Quebec City, where he enrolled in Laval University to improve his French – even composing several songs in the language of Molière. Since 1999, Sewall has made annual pilgrimages to Louisiana, where he plays in the New Orleans Jazz Festival and immerses himself in the area’s rich musical culture. His strongly traditional blues and folk repertoire has expanded and now includes Indian blues, Louisiana blues and New Orleans jazz. Many of his newest compositions reflect these influences, and can be heard on his album Jay Sewall Live.

Today, Sewall is an ever-present member of the Quebec blues community. For ten years and counting, he's been conducting local blues jams; he teaches harmonica and guitar and continues to perform at local bars, private parties, colleges and festivals. In September 2008, Jay received the prestigious Lys Blues Lifetime Achievement Award, Quebec’s top blues recognition. To commemorate this milestone, in 2009, Jay recorded an all-blues album with producer Ken Whiteley. This fifth recording is devoted to his true passion, the harmonica.

Performances/news this month
July 23-24 - Quebec (Vieux Port), QC, Pope-George Bistro
August 14 - Donnaconna, QC, Donnaconna Blues Festival (Jess Bar)
August 19-21, Victoriaville, QC, Weekend-en-blues

Website
www.jaysewall.com 

Discography
All Blues (2009)
Jay Sewall Live (2006)
The Essential: I'm a Bluesman (2003)
Blue Monday Blues (1999)
Be Bop Beluga (1994)


SOCAN Connection
Member since 1981

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Jay Sewall


Auteur-compositeur-interprète blues, harmoniciste

La chanson - « Funk in Your Soul » est en ondes...

Bio
Jay Sewall naît en 1942 à quelques pas de Fenway Park, le berceau des Red Sox de Boston. Alors qu’il n’a que quatre ans, il part avec sa mère à Montréal, où il grandit. C’est à 15 ans qu’il achète sa première guitare. Son premier groupe, The Petes and Jay Quartet, interprète la musique des plus grands de l’heure tels que Elvis, Jerry Lee Lewis, Duane Eddy ainsi que les tubes des années 40. C’est au sein du quatuor que Jay se lance avec ses premières compositions.


En 1962, Jay entre à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick où il fait ses études et obtient son brevet d’enseignant en éducation physique. Il ne délaisse pas pour autant sa passion pour la musique et se retrouve dans les années 60 à jouer la musique de ses idoles, ne manquant jamais l’occasion de faire connaître ses propres compositions.

En 1967, il remporte le premier prix dans un concours pour nouveaux talents de la chanson organisé par l’Université de St-Jean. C’est à la même époque qu’il commence à jouer de l’harmonica, l’instrument qui deviendra sa vraie passion. En 1977, Jay décide de laisser l’enseignement pour partir à Toronto, puis à Detroit et enfin à Chicago. À son retour à Montréal, il forme un nouveau groupe qui devient vite très populaire, The Mighty Jay Blues Band. Mais voilà qu’après six ans de succès, encore une fois le besoin de changement se fait sentir et après une prestation au Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, Jay dissout le groupe et part en Inde se ressourcer.

Vers la fin des années 80, Jay quitte Montréal pour s’établir à Québec où il s’inscrit à l’Université Laval pour parfaire son français afin de composer plus librement dans la langue de Molière. Depuis 1999, Jay Sewall participe chaque année au Festival de Jazz de la Nouvelle-Orléans pour s’imprégner et se délecter de la riche culture musicale louisianaise. Son répertoire plutôt blues traditionnel et folk s’est maintenant élargi. Le blues aux influences indiennes de la Louisiane et le jazz de la Nouvelle-Orléans ont inspiré plusieurs de ses nouvelles compositions. On peut d’ailleurs les entendre sur son album Jay Sewall Live.

Aujourd’hui, Jay est toujours présent dans la communauté blues de Québec. Il enseigne la guitare et l’harmonica et anime des sessions de jam depuis une dizaine d’années. En même temps, il se produit dans les cégeps, les bars et les festivals. En septembre 2008, Jay a reçu le prestigieux Hommage Lys Blues où il a été honoré pour l’ensemble de sa carrière. C’est pour commémorer ce grand moment qu’il lance un nouvel album en 2009, produit par Ken Whiteley. Ce cinquième album est instrumental, un hommage à sa passion, l’harmonica.

Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
23-24 juillet - Québec (Vieux Port), Qué., Bistro le Pape-Georges
14 août - Donnaconna, Qué., Festival Blues Donnaconna
19-21 août - Victoriaville, Qué., Weekend-en-blues

Site Internet
www.jaysewall.com

Discographie
All Blues (2009)
Jay Sewall Live (2006)
The Essential: I'm a Bluesman (2003)
Blue Monday Blues (1999)
Be Bop Beluga (1994)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1981