Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Jimmy Rankin


Singer-songwriter


Song – "Here in my Heart"
- Now playing...
Co-written with Patricia Conroy

Bio
One of the most celebrated artists in East Coast Music Award history – he's won 22 ECMAs, including five SOCAN-sponsored songwriter of the year awards – Jimmy Rankin is currently nominated for eight more ECMAs, not to mention a Juno Award nomination for Country Album of the Year. he's also won six SOCAN Awards over the years.

For the 2012 ECMAs, the Nova Scotia singer-songwriter and member of the Rankin Family (who themselves have won six Junos) saw his current release, Forget About the World, named in three categories, while the single "Here in My Heart" is up for song, video, and SOCAN songwriter of the year.

On Forget About the World, Rankin serves up a jubilant songwriter record that celebrates love and life with a fervour. He takes listeners on a musical journey with a dozen songs imbued with a strong sense of imagery that captures the essence of emotions, and moments where things change – for the better, for the worse, forever.

"People have a hard time categorizing my music," says Rankin. "I’ve had an eclectic upbringing – Hank Williams Sr., rock n’ roll, Celtic… And to me, country music is all those things. I’ve been making records for 20 years now – and I’m still learning about the power of what records can do. The way they bring people together, give them hope, make them sing. To me, that’s one of the greatest gifts music can give.”

One of country’s brightest stars and players, Keith Urban, is a long-time fan and vocal supporter of Rankin. Their personal connection goes back to the 2002 Canadian Country Music Awards, and a late-night hotel jam session that has since become legendary. The two toured together in 2003, and now Urban has provided the lead guitar part on "Here in my Heart."

There's an immediacy to the songs on Forget About The World. There's the pull of the world in “Walk That Way” (a duet with Serena Ryder), sweeping hope in the uncertainty of “Waiting On A Sign,” little details of how one’s supposed to live life on the intimate “Maybe Nothing,” and the raw ache of “The Hurtin’ Part,” altogether giving one a sense of the complexity of a life truly lived.

Rankin draws his audience and his peers in with his unique charm and his ability as a lyricist to capture the everyday turmoil of living and loving. While the songs on Forget About The World run the gamut from country/pop to more stripped-down singer-songwriter offerings, it wasn’t a particular style, a particular form, or a particular emotion that informed Rankin's writing. As he says, “When I sit down and write, I just want to write a good song.”

Performances/news this month
March 2-4 - Regina, Conexus Arts Centre

Website
www.jimmyrankin.com

Discography
Forget About the World (2011)
Edge of Day (2007)
Handmade (2003)
Song Dog (2001)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 1990

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Jimmy Rankin


Auteur-compositeur

La chanson – « Here in my Heart » est en ondes...
(Co-écrite avec Patricia Conroy)

Bio

Jimmy Rankin est l’un des artistes les plus primés au Gala de la musique de la Côte Est (ECMA) avec 22 trophées, donc cinq prix SOCAN de l’ Auteur-compositeur de l’année. Il est actuellement en nomination pour huit trophées de plus au même gala, sans compter sa nomination aux Juno pour l’Album country de l’année. Il a également remporté six prix SOCAN au cours des années.

Ses nominations aux ECMA 2012 comprennent trois pour son album Forget About the World, et trois pour « Here in My Heart », dont le prix SOCAN de l’ Auteur-compositeur de l’année. Rappelons que l’artiste néo-écossais fait partie de la Famille Rankin (qui a remporté six prix Juno).

Son album Forget About the World célèbre la vie et l’amour. La douzaine de chansons capturent l’essence de l’émotion et le moment où tout change à jamais, que ce soit pour le mieux ou le pire.

« Les gens ont de la difficulté à catégoriser ma musique, dit Rankin. J’ai eu une éducation musicale éclectique, avec Hank Williams Sr., rock n’ roll, Celtic… Pour moi, la musique country est tout cela. Je fais des albums depuis 20 ans, et j’apprends encore sur leur pouvoir. Ils rassemblent les gens, leur donne espoir, les fait chanter. C’est un des plus grands cadeaux de la musique. »

Keith Urban, une grande star de la musique country, est un admirateur de longue date. Leur connexion remonte à 2002, lors du Gala de la musique country canadienne, et une séance d’impro musicale légendaire. Les deux ont fait une tournée ensemble en 2003 et Keith Urban est guitariste principal sur « Here in My Heart ».

Les chansons de Forget About the World interpellent. Son duo avec Serena Ryder, « Walk That Way » parle de l’attirance du vaste monde, « Waiting On A Sign » traite d’espoir incertain, « Maybe Nothing » décrit les détails de la vie et « The Hurtin’ Part » de la douleur, le tout reflétant la complexité de l’existence.

Jimmy Rankin attire ses auditoires et amis artistes grâce à son charme unique et son talent d’auteur, qui réussit à décrire parfaitement le tourment quotidien de la vie et de l’amour. On trouve sur Forget About the World des styles différents, du country/pop à la chanson plus dépouillée. Mais pour Jimmy Rankin, son seul but quand il s’assoit pour écrire, c’est de produire une bonne chanson.

Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
2-4 mars - Regina, Centre des arts Conexus

Site Internet
www.jimmyrankin.com

Discographie
Forget About the World (2011)
Edge of Day (2007)
Handmade (2003)
Song Dog (2001)


Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1990