Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Joël Côté


Singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist

Song - "Berce ton rêve" - Now Playing ...

Bio
Originally from La Prairie, on Montreal's South Shore, Joel Côté is a self-taught singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist who plays drums, guitar, bass, saxophone and harmonica.

Around the age of 14, he practiced drums and voice with his friends Stéphane Poirier and Robert Charlebois’ ex-guitarist Martin Lapalme, who is featured as a guitarist and backup singer on his newly-released album.

Côté and his rock group Pink Cadillac took part in the show celebrating the 40th anniversary of singer Jean-Pierre Ferland’s career, and the band placed first in the 1993 St-Hyacinthe Retro Festival, as well as playing several other music festivals.

Côté also joined King du Rock ’n' Roll with Scotty Davis, Gilles Renaud, Phil Holly and Suzie Olsen, and toured throughout Quebec with the band. In 1997, he started Les À-Côtés-à-Joël, a group that performed his original songs. This band was an Empire des Futures Stars contestant in 1998 and opened shows for artists like Okoumé and Plume Latraverse in 1999.

In 2000, Côté was invited to perform some of his songs for a Bouquinistes du St-Laurent compilation CD. In 2001, Les À-Côtés-à-Joël won first prize in the Molson Ex new talent competition. From 2002 to 2008, Côté performed as a drummer and backup singer in Jet Black’s Quebec-wide tour, alongside Joey (Épopée Rock) Tardif, Ti-Guy Émond and the backup singer/guitarist Sidney Freund. He also played his own songs in a number of venues at home and in France.

Côté is a current member of the retro, rockabilly and rock band Rumble Dogs with Phil Holly and Ricardo Branchini, while continuing to perform with Pic-Bois, a group that has opened shows for Paul Piché, Beau Dommage and Les B.B.

Côté’s music is also featured on the award-winning documentary Laisser couler le Nord (2004), and his self-titled debut album was released in 2009.

Website
www.myspace.com/jolct


Discography
Joël Côté (2009)
Laisser couler le Nord (2007)
Les Bouquinistes (2000)
L’Anti-Cancer(1999)
Joël Côté, Opinion de clown (1998)


SOCAN Connection
Member since 2003

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Joël Côté


Auteur-compositeur-interprète, multi-instrumentiste

La chanson – « Berce ton rêve » est en ondes ...

Bio
Originaire de La Prairie, sur la Rive-Sud de Montréal, cet auteur-compositeur-interprète a appris la musique de façon autodidacte et joue de plusieurs instruments, batterie, guitare, basse, saxophone et harmonica.

Vers l'âge de 14 ans, il travaille batterie et voix avec ses amis Stéphane Poirier et Martin Lapalme (ex-guitariste de Robert Charlebois). Lapalme a également participé en tant que choriste et guitariste à l'album de Joël.

Joël Côté et la formation Pink Cadillac participent au 40e anniversaire de vie artistique de Jean-Pierre Ferland et le groupe rock gagne le premier prix au Festival Rétro de St-Hyacinthe en 1993, avant de participer à plusieurs autres festivals.

Joël Côté se joint aussi au groupe King du Rock ’n' Roll, avec Scotty Davis, Gilles Renaud, Phil Holly et Suzie Olsen, qui parcourt tout le Québec. En 1997, Côté forme le groupe Les À-Côtés-à-Joël, qui interprète ses compositions originales et participe en 1998 au concours l'Empire des Futures Stars. Le groupe est invité à faire la première partie de spectacles d’artistes comme Okoumé et Plume Latraverse en 1999.

En 2000, Joël à été invité à inclure de ses chansons sur le CD des Bouquinistes du St-Laurent. En 2001, Les À-Côtés-à-Joël remportent le premier prix au concours de la relève Molson Ex. De 2002 à 2008, c’est aux côtés de Joey Tardif (Épopée Rock), Ti-Guy Émond et le guitariste-choriste Sidney Freund que Joël accompagne à la voix et à la batterie durant la tournée provinciale de Jet Black. L’artiste interprète aussi son répertoire sur de nombreuses scènes au pays et en France.

Il est maintenant membre des Rumble Dogs, un groupe rétro, rockabilly et rock, aux côtés de Phil Holly et Ricardo Branchini, tout en faisant toujours partie du groupe Pic-Bois, qui a assuré les premières parties de spectacles de Paul Piché, Beau Dommage et des B.B.

Sa musique figure aussi dans le documentaire primé Laisser couler le Nord (2004). Son premier album est maintenant disponible.

Site Internet
www.myspace.com/jolct

Discographie
Joël Côté (2009)
Laisser couler le Nord (2007)
Les Bouquinistes (2000)
L’Anti-Cancer (1999)
Joël Côté, Opinion de clown (1998)


Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1992