Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Joel Plaskett


Pop-rock singer-songwriter

Song – "On the Rail" - Now playing...

Bio
Canada has produced some of the world's most enduring songwriters and passionate performers, and Joel Plaskett belongs on the top shelf with the best of them.

Since spending his teenage years recording and touring with Halifax indie upstarts Thrush Hermit, Plaskett has been writing his own story. After releasing two critically acclaimed independent albums, he signed to MapleMusic Recordings for the release of 2003's Truthfully Truthfully, a rock tour de force recorded with his band, The Joel Plaskett Emergency. That album scored with critics and fans, put Plaskett on the national radar, earned a Juno Award nomination for Alternative Album of the Year, and won an East Coast Music Award (ECMA) for Rock Recording of the Year.

During a summer break from touring in 2004, Plaskett responded to a longtime fan's offer of free recording time at a home studio in Mesa, Arizona. He drove across America with his songwriting notebook in the passenger seat. The results of that journey are documented in Plaskett's La De Da album (2005), on which he plays all the instruments, comfortably following his instincts.

Plaskett’s DVD release, Make a Little Noise (2006), is a collection of his typically electirfying live performances, featuring the excellent Emergency band as well as solo material. The DVD package included a bonus CD with three Emergency band recordings. The first single, “(Can I Go) Nowhere With You” – in addition to being used in a summer 2006 television ad campaign for the Zeller’s retail chain – became a staple at radio from coast to coast, charting at No. 3 on Hot Adult Contemporary (AC) radio.

Plaskett’s next recording, Ashtray Rock (2007), was a concept album about two teenage boys whose band breaks up when they compete over a girl in a messy love triangle. It earned widespread critical and fan praise, and a great many award nominations.

Three (2009) is a triple album featuring an eclectic blend of styles, ranging from drum-machine rock ‘n’ roll, to stripped-down acoustic folk, to a deep-country vibe and rollicking pop. Three marks another landmark in the career of this great Canadian songwriter.

On June 14, 2011, he released Emergencys, False Alarms, Shipwrecks, Castaways, Fragile Creatures, Special Features, Demons and Demonstrations, a collection of demos, outtakes, rarities and B-sides from morer than a decade of music-making.

Over the years, Plaskett has received literally dozens of awards and nominations, inlcuding several SOCAN-sponsored Songwriter of the Year honours at various awards shows. He swept all five categories in which he was nominated at the 2007 Music Nova Scotia Awards (MNSAs), and won six of the seven for which he was nominated at the 2008 ECMAs. He also won a Juno Award for Adult Alternative Album of the Year (for Three) in 2010.


Performances/news this month
June 18 - Millville, New Jersey, Southern Shore Music Festival
June 19 - Croton-on-Hudson, New York, Clearwater Great Hudson River Festival
June. 25 - Summerside, PEI, Summerside Concert Series
June 30 - St. John's, NL, Canada Day Weekend, George Street Stage
July 10 - Sarnia, ON, Sarnia Bayfest Festival of Performing Arts
July 15 - Vancouver Folk Music Festival

Website
www.joelplaskett.com

Discography
Emergencys, False Alarms, etc. (rarities compilation, 2011)
Three (triple album, 2009)
Ashtray Rock (2007)
Make a Little Noise (DVD, 2006)
La De Da (2005)
Truthfully Truthfully (2003)
Down at the Khyber (2001)
In Need of Medical Attention (1999)

SOCAN Connection
* Member since 1993
* Feature, Words & Music, Summer 2005
* Cover Story, Words & Music, Summer 2009
* ECMA SOCAN Songwriter of the year in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Joel Plaskett


Auteur-compositeur-interprète pop-rock

La chanson – « On the Rail » est en ondes...

Bio
Le Canada a produit certains des auteurs-compositeurs les plus durables et des interprètes les plus passionnés que le monde ait jamais connus, et Joel Plaskett est de ceux-là.

Après avoir passé une partie de son adolescence à enregistrer et à se produire en tournée avec Thrush Hermit, groupe de Halifax à l’avant-scène de l’explosion de la musique indépendante au début des années 1990, Plaskett décide de faire cavalier seul, lance deux albums indépendants encensés par la critique et est recruté par MapleMusic Recordings, où il lance en 2003 l’album rock coup de poing Truthfully Truthfully avec son nouveau groupe, The Joel Plaskett Emergency. Succès critique et public, cet album fait connaître l’artiste à la grandeur du pays et lui vaut une nomination aux Prix Juno dans la catégorie de l’Album alternatif de l’année ainsi que le trophée de l’Enregistrement rock de l’année au gala de l’Association de ma musique de la Côte Est (ACME).

Ayant décidé de se reposer de la tournée à l’été 2004, Plaskett accepte une offre que lui avait faite un de ses admirateurs de longue date de venir enregistrer dans son studio à domicile de Mesa (Arizona) et part aux États-Unis avec son carnet d’écriture sur le siège passager de sa voiture. On peut entendre le résultat de cette aventure sur l’album La De Da (2005), où l’artiste donne libre cours à ses instincts musicaux et joue lui-même de tous les instruments.

Son coffret DVD, Make a Little Noise (2006), contient des captations de prestations souvent décapantes de Plaskett ou de l’excellent groupe Emergency. Il renferme un CD boni sur lequel on retrouve trois enregistrements d’Emergency. Le premier single, « (Can I Go) Nowhere With You » – utilisé à l’été 2006 dans une campagne télévisuelle des magasins Zellers – a tourné abondamment à la radio d’un océan à l’autre, se hissant à la troisième position du palmarès Hot Adult Contemporary (AC).

Le disque suivant, Ashtray Rock (2007), est un album-concept racontant l’histoire de deux musiciens adolescents qui assistent la dissolution de leur groupe après être tombés amoureux de la même fille. L’album fait l’unanimité de la critique et des fans et l’objet d’une multitude de mises en nomination.

Three (2009) est un album triple contenant des métissages de styles allant du rock boîte à rythme au folk acoustique dénudé en passant par le deep-country et la pop enjouée. Il représente une autre étape importante de l’évolution de l’artiste.

Le 14 juin 2011, Plaskett lance Emergencys, False Alarms, Shipwrecks, Castaways, Fragile Creatures, Special Features, Demons and Demonstrations, un recueil de maquettes, de chansons encore jamais enregistrées, de raretés et de faces B tirées d’une période de plus qu’une décennie d’écriture de chansons.

En carrière, Plaskett a reçu plusieurs dizaines de prix et nominations, dont plusieurs Prix SOCAN de l’Auteur-compositeur de l’année dans le cadre de divers galas de la chanson. Il a remporté les prix des cinq catégories dans lesquels il était en nomination au gala 2007 des Music Nova Scotia Awards (MNSAs) et les trophées de six des sept catégories dans lesquelles il était en lice au gala 2008 de l’AMCE (Association de Musique de la Côte Est).


Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
18 juin - Millville (New Jersey), Southern Shore Music Festival
19 juin - Croton-on-Hudson (New York), Clearwater Great Hudson River Festival
25 juin – Summerside (Ile-du-Prince-Édouard), Summerside Concert Series
30 juin – Saint-Jean (Terre-Neuve), fin de semaine de la Fête du Canada, George Street Stage
10 huillet – Sarnia (Ontario), Sarnia Bayfest Festival of Performing Arts
15 juillet - Vancouver Folk Music Festival

Site Internet

www.joelplaskett.com

Discographie

Emergencys, False Alarms, etc. (compilation, 2011)
Three (triple-disc, 2009)
Ashtray Rock (2007)
Make a Little Noise (DVD, 2006)
La De Da (2005)
Truthfully Truthfully (2003)
Down at the Khyber (2001)
In Need of Medical Attention (1999)

Lien avec la SOCAN
* Membre depuis 1993
* Words & Music, 2005, 2009
* AMCE SOCAN auteur-compositeur de l'année en 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010