Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Jon Brooks


Singer-songwriter, guitarist

Song – "Small" - Now Playing ...

Bio
Upon his return from a 1997 visit to war-ruined Bosnia-Herzegovina, Jon Brooks traded guitar for pen, claiming his faith in popular music as a source of healing had been challenged. In 2005 – after eight years of neither writing music nor performing – Brooks conceded the opposing view to be equally true: that "only the art of song carries within itself the means toward greater social justice and community survival. I want my songs to be three-and-a-half-minute pills which, if digested, induce upon the listener empathy toward others.”

Though Brooks' music is filled with gray and morally ambiguous characters living on the outskirts of approval, his mandate is unequivocal: “I’m not interested in ‘happy songs’ – I’ve chosen to write healing songs and, for that reason, I’m obliged to reveal a wound or two now and then. I’m even less interested in writing unhappy songs: I want to write hopeful songs, inspiring songs and I expect I owe today’s listener some hopeful argument – some legitimate reason – as to why we should believe our present world could be improved, or healed. The highest aim of song is to invoke empathy – to offer that rare sight of ourselves in others. In this sense, the folksinger is simply trying to politicize love, hence, my contention that today’s songwriter should be a lobbyist for compassion to be our principal representative in government office.”

In 2006 he released No Mean City, a weighty and conceptual exposition of the modern urban soul’s homelessness and moral fatigue. In 2007, Brooks earned superlative acclaim with the release of Ours And The Shepherds, an album of Canadian war stories inspired by James Loney, Senator Roméo Dallaire, Sgt. Tommy Prince, and John McRae, among others. The collection earned Brooks a Best Songwriter nomination at the 2007 Canadian Folk Music Awards. The magazine Penguin Eggs deemed it “a thoroughly wonderful and truly important addition to the canon of Canadian folk music.” Brooks also won the Ontario Council of Folk Festivals' Songs From the Heart competition that year.

His 2009 CD, Moth Nor Rust, looked inward to all that neither moth nor rust can touch: love, hope, trust, memory, inspiration, justice, and faith. More than a celebration of the inner life, Moth Nor Rust reminds us how the song is a necessary and moral means toward lifting humanity in the 21st century. Moth Nor Rust earned Brooks his second Canadian Folk Music Award nomination for Best Songwriter, and its lyrics were published by Canada’s esteemed literary quarterly, Exile Editions. Brooks also won of the Canadian regional round of the 2009 Mountain Stage NewSong Contest, and made The Toronto Star’s annual list of Top 10 Artists To Watch In 2010.

Website
www.jonbrooks.ca
www.myspace.com/jonbrooks

Discography
Moth Nor Rust (2009)
Ours and the Shepherds (2007)
No Mean City (2006)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 1998

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Jon Brooks


Auteur-compositeur-interprète, guitariste

La chanson - « Small » est en ondes...

Bio
Depuis son retour d’une visite en 1997 en Bosnie-Herzégovine, Jon Brooks a délaissé sa guitare en faveur de la plume. Il croyait que le pouvoir de guérison de la musique populaire ne tenait plus devant de telles atrocités. En 2005, après huit ans d’absence de la scène et sans avoir écrit une note, il concède qu’on peut aussi penser exactement le contraire, que « seule la chanson peut amener une plus grande justice sociale et la survie d’une communauté. Je veux que mes chansons soient des pilules de trois minutes et demie qui, une fois digérées, provoquent plus d’empathie envers les autres. »

Les chansons de Brooks contiennent des personnages ambigus qui vivent dans la marge. Il n’est pas intéressé aux chansons remplies de bonheur. « J’ai choisi d’écrire des chansons qui font du bien et, pour ce faire, je dois montrer quelques blessures ici et là. Je n’ai pas envie d’écrire des chansons malheureuses non plus, je les veux remplies d’espoir, inspirantes; je dois apporter à mes auditeurs des raisons légitimes d’espérer que notre monde actuel peut être amélioré et guéri. Le but ultime d’une chanson est de provoquer de l’empathie. Dans ce sens, le chanteur folk fait de l’amour une politique, c’est un lobbyiste pour que la compassion soit notre principale représentante au gouvernement. »

En 2006, il lance No Mean City, une démonstration de la fatigue morale de l’âme urbaine moderne. En 2007, il s’attire des critiques élogieuses pour son nouvel album Ours And The Shepherds, contenant des histoires de guerre canadiennes inspirées par les James Loney, le sénateur-général Roméo Dallaire, le sergent Tommy Prince et John McRae, entres autres. L’album lui a valu une nomination de Meilleur auteur au Gala de la musique folk en 2007. Le magazine Penguin Eggs l’a qualifié « d’important ajout à la musique folk canadienne ». Brooks a aussi remporté le concours Chansons du cœur du Conseil des festivals folk de l’Ontario cette même année.

Son CD de 2009, Moth Nor Rust, examinait tout ce qui ne pouvait être touché par la rouille ou les mites : l’amour, l’espoir, la confiance, l’inspiration, la justice, la foi. L’album célèbre la vie intérieure et les moyens d’amener un peu plus de morale au XXIe siècle. Moth Nor Rust a valu à Brooks sa deuxième nomination de Meilleur auteur au Gala de la musique folk et ses textes furent publiés dans le trimestriel littéraire Exile Editions. Brooks a aussi remporté la finale canadienne du Mountain Stage NewSong Contest, et est inclus dans la liste des 10 artistes à surveiller en 2010 du Toronto Star.

Site Internet
www.jonbrooks.ca
www.myspace.com/jonbrooks

Discographie
Moth Nor Rust (2009)
Ours and the Shepherds (2007)
No Mean City (2006)



Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1998